We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay Suites Auckland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barclay Suites Auckland to your Saves list
Barclay Suites Auckland
4.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   70 - 74 Albert Street | 100 meters from Queen St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
arundel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was in Auckland for a couple of days,needed a base to tour the city without breaking the bank,good size apartment which includes full size fridge and washing machine,staff very helpful and friendly would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    50
    26
    9
    1
See reviews for
20
59
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a one bedroom suite on the 22nd floor - views to die for! Sky tower, city skyline, Auckland Harbour right over to the North Shore and out to the hills in the distance. Got to see a spectacular thunderstorm.

Bed very comfortable (superking I think?) the suite had plenty of room, clean, and quiet. Free wifi was welcomed and we received a voucher for a bottle of wine for the next stay if we book direct with them - keen!

The staff were the glory of the hotel - welcoming, hospitable, and very helpful. Air conditioning would have been nice but the fans were sufficient and parking was $32 per night - (about $5 to $10 cheaper than other hotels in the area)

Didn't try the spa but will do when we are back in February. Great value for money

Room Tip: Book a higher floor, its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary AB
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a very spacious two bedroom room which worked perfect for our family. Large kitchenette with a dining area, good living room space with two couches, two full bathrooms. We also had a washing machine/dryer. The hotel is smaller, only four rooms on our floor. The hotel itself was quiet, but our room faced out to the street and it got noisy through the night. Great hotel, just needs a bit of upkeep (paint, etc). Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location - walking distance to everything in city

Room I was allocated was on 4th floor - other reviews recommended 5th floor or above as noisy - they weren't wrong - nothing to do with hotel - its the street noise.

No aircon so had to have windows open or roast

Room was very tired and needed some maintenance and cleaning!
Shower was filthy - bit of bleach would help and marks on walls and stains around toilet.

Had all the things you would need but no "polish"

The outside of the building needs a good wash (windows and the entrance way really dirty)

Washing machine in bathroom had missing foot (didn't use it but out things on top of it and it wobbled.
Really easy things to remedy - just need someone to sort it and take responsibility (im a hotel manager and ex housekeeping manager so possibly a little bit picky)

Staff were awesome and extremely friendly

Would use again if higher room and housekeeping picks up their act :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are likely to be quieter - but hey your in the CBD - Fri & Sat nights are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were pleasantly surprised with this choice for a 3 night stay after a long flight. From the rather insignificant reception we took the elevator up to our floor ending up in a modernistic lobby of cold concrete only to open our apartment door onto a superbly appointed suite.
Looking extremely well maintained with everything we could wish for like fridge, cooker washing machine, Good wardrobe space and an "oh so" comfortable bed.
Lobby staff always very helpful with cafe and restaurants all close by also with a view and short walk
to Sky City , The Art Gallery and Queens street it was just what we wanted. Views from balcony limited due to the skyline of the adjacent CBD (Central business district) But hey a small price to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor at the rear of the building to avoid some street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Barclay Suite for 4 nights pre a cruise back to Sydney. Staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Close to Princes Wharf (we walked to board our ship) the suite was well equiped, modern, tastefully decorated and very comfortable with a great bed. We had a top floor suite with beautiful harbour views. Great value, we would definitely return. Close to casino and all CBD shopping. Thanks to Arie at the front desk for his enthusiasm and welcoming spirit.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view up high. We did and got a top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to post a review Suzinauz

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Barclay Suites. Yes Arie is an absolute star!
It’s great to see we are on the right track to delivering a great accommodation experience.
Don’t forget to book direct with us on your next stay for FREE Wi-Fi and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the City of Sails.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was well fitted out, good location and had nice views of the Sky Tower and the harbour. The staff were helpful. However although we had a room on the 18th floor (we had asked for a quiet room) there was noise from the revellers and the police sirens until 3 and 4 am (we were there at the weekend). It was almost as if the windows were open, which they weren't we checked. Great shame because good otherwise.

Room Tip: If there are rooms at the back and you like quiet rooms suggest going for one of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your Sandjtravels,

It was disappointing to read your stay with us didn’t meet your expectations. We take great pride in offering a fantastic accommodation service in Auckland, We are working with the city council to reduce street/public noise. We can assist with FOC ear plugs available for front desk.

Kind Regards

Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Address: 70 - 74 Albert Street | 100 meters from Queen St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay Suites Auckland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.