We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best welcome to New Zealand we could have wished for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 23 Hepburn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
23 Hepburn
Save
You added 23 Hepburn to your Saves list
23 Hepburn Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1001, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best welcome to New Zealand we could have wished for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

After a day on a plane from UK this was the perfect place to arrive to start our holiday. Beth welcomed us like long lost relatives, nothing was too much trouble.
Beautiful period rooms, huge, comfortable bed. Fantastic breakfasts left in the room of fresh fruit salads, cereals, toast with homemade jams plus lovely extra touches such as the bowl of sweets and complementary fortified wine.
So good we stayed again 3 weeks later before heading home!
Thanks Beth, we will be sure to stay again if ever we make it back to nz.
Adrian & Kate, Manchester

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I hope you do make it back to New Zealand as I would love to see you again and have you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
139
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent five nights here in May. This is a wonderful home. Our bedroom, on the front, was spacious and very very clean. This is a historic neighborhood, close by to shopping, restaurants and other services on Ponsonby, as well as close by to the Inner Link bus line which takes one to just about any location one would want to visit in Auckland. Beth furnishes a small map of the Ponsonby attractions and is a fountain of knowledge about what is going on in town. She pointed us to a few out of the way attractions as well, such as the French Market in Parnell and Eden Garden. Breakfasts, set up in the rooms, include fresh orange juice and Beth's homemade muffins and homemade yoghurt. Beth also goes out of her way to let you know the best travel alternatives not only around town, but to the airport. This is simply and wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you, thank you for your review. Having charming people like you to stay makes it all so easy. I really appreciate your words and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We arrived in Auckland early in the morning after traveling for an entire day. We were happy to meet Beth and she allowed us to check in early and we were able to get settled and shower and even gave us the larger room. The home is in a perfect location for restaurants and city transit. The room was clean and breakfast in the room was perfect. We liked the flexibility of having breakfast at our leisure. Beth was very accomadating and pleasant. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Your review is delightful - thank you so much. I know what it is like after a long flight - I know I can't wait to have a shower, wash my hair and put on fresh clothes. Loved having you to stay and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for one night while visiting Auckland (from Brisbane). Beth, the host, is super-nice, without being too friendly or intrusive. The rooms are amazing. They are comfortable and fully equipped. The (continental) breakfast is convenient (especially for early or late starts) and superb. The area around it is full of restaurants and cafes as well. It's fantastic.

Beth really does treat you as a person not as a "customer". In our case, our stay was over my partner's birthday. Beth did up the entrance (and upgraded us -- thanks for the present :)). Her recommendations for places in Auckland were spot-on.

What's truly special about this place is that it feels genuinely nice. It's not full of glitz and gold (sorry), but who needs marble everywhere when you have such a delightful and comfortable place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackaybeth, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It was a treat having you to stay - especially as it was birthday time. Thanks too for your comments about the breakfast - I really appreciate them. And you are right -23 Hepburn isn't 'glitz & gold'. I have always wanted it to be homely given the old girl is almost 100 years old - the house I mean - not me!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Our other B&B in Auckland was in a heritage house in an attractive street (23 Hepburn Street) within walking distance of the city. Beth makes sure you are comfortable in the very pleasant rooms in her house. A welcome glass of wine helps to create a nice atmosphere. The next street in Ponsonby is full of a great variety of restaurants and cafes. With Beth’s advice we walked to a jazz café the first night and had a delicious Italian meal the second night. My only fault was the lack of a small table in the bedroom from which to have your breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackaybeth, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - I really appreciate it. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay - I certainly enjoyed you being here. I'll see what I can do about a table for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed a night at this B&B before we flew out of Auckland.

The two rooms at the front are large with seating areas and we got an upgrade to the bigger room. Beth was very accommodating.

The breakfast was left in the room - and this suited us well. It was a continental style breakfast with home baked muffins, jam suit salad, cereals, yoghurts etc. Having the breakfast prepared in the room gives you freedom to eat when you feel like in your pyjamas!

The building itself is very pretty and Ponsonby road is very near with a wealth of dining options and characters!

All in all, a nice place to stay, and Finn the boxer kept us entertained when he escaped from his quarters at the back of the house!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackaybeth, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay. Finn, the boxer, used every opportunity to escape down to see you. I am happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our recent trip to New Zealand. Beth upgraded us on our first night, which was great and gave us a large room with table and sitting area. We stayed in our booked room for the second night which was also attractive but a bit tight with 2 large suitcases and a struggle to eat breakfast. 23 Hepburn is a more "hands off" B&B - Beth is very friendly and welcoming on arrival but then leaves you to it. Breakfast is left in your room in the fridge - there is no communal breakfast area or lounge. This suited us ok when we had jet lag but doesn't give you the same sense of being welcomed into someone's home as in other B&Bs. We felt breakfast was a bit on the small side - 1 small pot of fruit salad, 1 small bowl of yoghurt, 2 slices of sliced bread, 2 small fruit muffins (don't taste great direct out of the fridge - our advice is leave them outside the fridge overnight so the flavour is better) between 2 people, plus jars of muesli or cornflakes. There is plenty of cereal, milk and orange juice but in comparison to other places we have stayed in for less money, there isn't as much selection and it isn't brilliant quality.
The location of the B&B is really nice - on a quiet, leafy road in Ponsonby, just a shot walk from many restaurants and interesting boutiques. It's not a long walk into the harbour and waterfront either.
Overall - B&B is very nice but overrated given the experience you can find in other places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackaybeth, Owner at 23 Hepburn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very sorry your stay at 23 Hepburn did not meet your expectations. It's sometimes hard to judge how much interaction individual guests want - some guests love their privacy and want to just do their own thing. I'm sorry I was not as available to you as much as you would have liked. Thank you for your comments about the breakfast. I will ensure I make my homemade muffins larger and what a good idea to leave them covered out of the fridge. I will also make the servings of fruit salad and my homemade yoghurt larger. And yes, you are right, The Jervois is a smaller room than my two other rooms and if guests have lots of luggage it can be a bit tight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 23 Hepburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Hepburn

Address: 23 Hepburn Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
23 Hepburn Auckland, New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 23 Hepburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.