We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious tapas and wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellota

Bellota
91 Federal St, Auckland, New Zealand
(09) 363 6301
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In federal street by the casino, the tapas plates are beautifully presented and taste great. Also a very good wine list. The ambience is intimate, with lots of small couches in booths as well as a couple of long tables. Staff and service are good. It's quite pricey though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    36
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“O.K. Not great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just didn't warm to this place...
The atmosphere is contemporary but unfortunately very uncomfortable, the lighting is a sickly yellow, the seating is very straight back and couldn't get comfortable, the music was terrible and way to loud.
The food is average, not particularly interesting or flavoursome.
Wouldn't go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Make like in Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Seeking somewhere a bit special to treat my family while here in NZ, I did what I normally do and asked around. There was some significant agreement that Bellota was worth a visit. It certainly was!
There is no booking. We arrived long before we really needed to eat and were entertained by a very proficient guitarist/vocalist while we waited for a table to become free while we supped an excellent Rioja. The staff were really friendly and gave us constant updates on the progress of our putative table. Once seated, we were attended by an excellent waitress who guided us through the tapas menu and the wine list. The food was memorable we had clams, deep fried goats cheese, anchovies and prawns, all accompanied by more of the great Rioja. The bill was very reasonable, good value for money. Highly recommendable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM COAST
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The selection of tapas was good and the service was wonderful. The wine selection was great with an Argentine wine, Torrentes, on the wine list that is not normally available in restaurants.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went here for a drink while waiting for a table at Depot and fell in love! A little pricey but excellent delivery on quality! The atmosphere is gorgeous and the live spanish guitar is a nice touch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellota also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Bellota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.