We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat all day before going here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildfire

Wildfire
Shed 22, Princes Wharf, Quay Street, Auckland, New Zealand
64-9-353-7595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,295 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dont eat all day before going here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The food is great. The selection they offer you is staggering. The meat is all cooked very nicely. Just when you think you’ve tried everything they bring out something else. I suggest trying a little, little bit of everything that takes your fancy so you can fit everything in!! Oh and don’t wear tight pants.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    101
    44
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cocktails were to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I loved this little restaurant/bar during my visit to Auckland. I dined here once and loved the food but the main reason I kept returning was for the cocktails and the ambience. Its in a great location, and my friends and I sat outside overlooking the quay long into the night. When it got cold, the staff put on the heaters for us to warm us up. I came down here on my own one day and had a cocktail and read my book in the sun and the staff were lovely, kind and accomodating. The cocktails were a little pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not very authentic churrascaria.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Went to wildfire and was very underwhelmed by it. Most Brazilian place have a lot of salad and sides to accompany that you can get at your own pace. THey typically have several meat options ith different seasoning options. Thiis on did not. I had mussels and salmon high are also served table side. No real salads and no veggie options. They also have time base pricing so if u go between 5-7 it's 10$ cheaper hat after. They have a 10$ add on for salt and pepper prawns and $10 option add on for desert. Caipirinha's are made with an obscure cachaca and lemons with cooking sugar, so it's not really that good. It's the wort one I've every had. I asked for using limes in it and was told we use lemons. I've been to rio and us-based c-rias; both were way better than what I received. I would not go again buy apparently this is all Auckland has so for the locals that haven't travelled it sounds like its the best thing since sliced bread.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great way of dining in a group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were part of a group of 12 celebrating a friends birthday. The meal is a set price and with only one bill per table it made it easier to organise payment into birthday boy's bank account before the night in question. With that out the way all we had to do was enjoy the evening. The meal kicks off with a selection of antipasti style food, marinated mushrooms, sliced cold cuts, stuffed baby bell peppers, breads, dips etc for the table. Those dishes are cleared away to make way for the main event, vegies in the form of broccoli, cauliflower (with a bit of cheese sauce) and roast potatoes (all cooked well) were put on the table, the little stop/go indicator was switched to green and we were off. The variety of meat and seafood on offer was staggering, I think I counted three different cuts of beef, chicken, sausages, pork, lamb, calamari, salmon, mussels, pasta etc. You definitely have to be a meat and or seafood eater to visit Wildfire. The vegies get replaced as the plates empty, so there is not fear of running out of accompaniaments to the meat. I think our little indicator was switched a couple of times as people took breathers, which is part of the feasting ritual. Birthday boy was given the in house treatment, where a number of the staff gather around to sing Happy Birthday Portuguese style which includes alot of clapping and singing and we joined in with heart, despite not knowing the words. Not a place for quiet romantic couples dining, but other than that it's good for an informal gathering for any other reason.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“If you like meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went to Wildfire while on a tour of New Zealand. It was a fantastic experience, particularly if you like meat! The service was excellent and you could not go away hungry. It is downtown and convenient to hotels and other Auckland attractions. Maybe a bit noisy when they are busy, which is most evenings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfire also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Wildfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildfire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.