We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St to your Saves list
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Auckland
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

As others have said, you worry a little bit when you see the location....its opposite a homeless refuge. But don't let that put you off, its only 2 mins from the Sky Tower, very central location. Reception service was good. The room was ok, we had a kitchen unit in ours. There was a weird aircon/heater stand alone unit in the room, which simply didn't work....really annoying because it was very hot and stuffy. Breakfast in the new restaurant was about averge. Other than that it was fine and recommended if you get good deal

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    221
    145
    49
    20
See reviews for
79
246
59
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

For the price we paid, this place exceeded our expectations. Ok it looks seedy outside and the streets are a little rough, but once you go in, everything is clean and bright. The reception staff gave us a really good tip to park along the streets for free (since it was the weekend) instead of charging us NZ$25 for overnight parking in their lot - so we really appreciated the honesty there. Our room was basic (in a good way) with the most comfortable hotel pillows and duvet we ever had; the bathroom is small but clean. No mould or leaks. The hotel did a great job refurbishing this place. We had a well-rested night before our flight back home.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for one night prior to a cruise and was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the hotel. Check in was easy and it was explained to me about using the room key in a slot for the lights, I was used to this as most hotels in Europe have this system anyway. For the price this was a great deal.
The restaurant is now open for breakfast.
I was travelling solo and felt very safe

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I stayed at the Auckland City Hotel for a week, and got such an incredible rate for a city-center hotel that I expected to find a youth hostel. But the hotel to my surprise was easily 3 star, with a great kitchenette and excellent bed. I didn't use the restaurant except once for a light snack, so can't comment there. I thought the parking fees (25 NZ$ per day) were reasonable for city center parking, as was the wired internet service (no wireless in the rooms), which was a per-minute charge, daily max of ~33 NZ$ or something like that. Seriously, I booked through Expedia and even with the parking and internet, it was still a smoking deal for comparable city center accommodations.

I liked its "eco-friendliness", but would have chosen it anyway for the value.
My only complaint is that I couldn't find stairs for access - I was on the second floor, and having to take the elevator up and down every day doesn't seem very environmentally friendly to me. I'd have rather climbed stairs.

As far as the neighborhood... there is a mission down the street where there were sometimes some homeless-looking people milling about, so if it would bother you to walk past them then don't stay here, go be a snob somewhere else. There is a laundry two buildings down, which made it nice to be able to run over and do some wash mid-week. There are two little convenience markets nearby that had a reasonable selection of kitchen food stuff. I walked to the harbour one afternoon and had a boat tour, wandered about, Queen Street shopping was excellent and everything within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

The parking was awful, and there were no instructions to tell us where to go. Our key didn't work for the room and had to be replaced. The electricity wasn't functioning in the room, and we later found out that we had to place our key in a slot in the room just to get the electricity working. There were no instructions listed anywhere about this. The staff barely spoke English, and were rude and unhelpful. Their attitude was extremely casual, and there was no apology for the problems we had experienced. We ended up leaving and going to another hotel. I am demanding a refund.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMTess, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 25, 2009
Dear Sir,

The management of Auckland City Hotel regret such experience that was encountered and noted this feedback. Rest assured that we do take customer’s feedback seriously as we constantly strive to deliver service exellence to all our guests.

We thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,

Tess Sebastian
Guest Services Manager

Auckland City Hotel
157 Hobson St.
Auckland, New Zealand
PH- 09-925-0777
Fax 09 925-0700
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

This apartment style hotel is in a great location close to skycity and queens street. The kitchenette is very well equipped and I liked the eco-friendly touches. The room was very spacious and spotless. The bed was the best I had slept in while travelling new zealand.

Unfortunately the restaurant was under refurbishment while I was there so I cannot comment on breakfast etc.

I booked this hotel on hotels.com for 48 euro per night which was nearly half what was being charged on the hotels own website.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Management at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank-you for your kind comments. You will be pleased to know that the cafe is now open for breakfast and lunch from 7am to 6pm. It should be open for dinner from around mid-late March.

Also the pricing on our website is in NZ dollars (not Euros), so rooms start at around 40 Euro with no booking fees. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Just a warning, don't rely on the hotel's wake up services and for them to book a taxi. We were assured that we'd be woken up at a certain hour which never happened and the taxi that they also assured would be booked never happened either. Luckily we just woke up in time ourselves, in time to book a taxi and just made it to our flight.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — don't offer services that you won't deliver on
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACH157, Management at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, February 26, 2009
Thank-you for your feedback as it will allow us to identify our short-comings and address them. We sincerely apologise for your experience with us.

We seem to have an intermittent problem with our telephone system for wake-up calls, and so we have implemented a manual follow up call procedure in the interim before the system is fixed.

As for booking taxis, we have a manual booking sheet which is reasonably foolproof, however we will look further at how we can improve this. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at The Mustard Seed Malaysian Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.