We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St to your Saves list
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ive spent almost two weeks in this hotel. The staff is good and helpful. The rooms where quite okay for the money spent, and the cleaning of the room was done every day. The location of the hotell is on Hobson Street, pretty close to Sky Tower, and close to convinience stores and Aotea Centre if you want to go to movie :-). The neighbourhoods is a bit ruff in the evenings, but i always felt safe. We tried to eat at the hotel restaurant, but did that only once, since it was somewhat boring.

We stayed in room where we made our own breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    197
    126
    39
    18
See reviews for
72
209
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were happy with our one-night stay in Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St in September. Our standard twin room was reasonable inc. brf and free wifi. The location of the hotel was great in the city center and close to the railway station. Even though the breakfast was a quite simple, sc. "Intercontinental" and a female receptionist seemed to be less up to date, we were pleased with the price-quality ratio of our stay (total 99 Euros).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgeford, null, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed this week just for one night while on business. 3rd stay there in the past 2 years. Tidy compact rooms with everything you would expect. A block away from Sky City. Did not eat in the restaurant but it looked interesting specialising in Malaysian food. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is quite spacious but not warm enough (heater is not functioning)n very small shower cubicle. Never stay in 1st floor because no lift service n you have to practically use all your strength to carry your heavy luggage into your room. Wifi only given 30mins/day only. Breakfast food choices very limited n staff is not friendly. It is near Queen Street and Sky Tower.

Room Tip: First floor no lift service. You have to carry your own luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My usual hotel was booked out on this trip to Auckland, so I tried this one out based on availability and price. I was not disappointed. The location is great, with only a short walk to Queen Street, Sky Tower or even the Viaduct if you like walking (which I do). The reception staff were terrifically helpful and friendly and adjusted my room when I found out my daughter would also stay with me. The room was quiet, very modern, clean and spacious. The heater and air con were separate, mobile units but I only had to use the heater once, so that wasn't an issue. It worked fine. It would be nice to have a bathroom fan/vent if the management can make note of that for the future. There is a restaurant downstairs, but I didn't try it. For the price, this hotel is excellent and one that I will definitely return to.

Room Tip: Not sure. Mine was quiet. Room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACHHOBSONST, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Vatuvia,

Thank you for your hotel review, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

It’s rewarding when a guest recognizes our staffs efforts and service. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Auckland City Hotel excellence for many more years to come.

We also thank you for your valuable feedback regarding addition ventilation the bathroom.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.


Sincerely,
Victor Fung
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in the middle of Auckland city. Great location especially if you are into walking and taking in the cityscapes. It is close to all the great sightseeing spots and restaurants. The hotel is an older hotel so the furniture is well used but this is not a negative. My room was spotless. The room was so well cleaned that I actually had to thank the cleaner. The restaurant for breakfast is a Malaysian restaurant and the food is fresh and good. I would only ask that they put names to the food they serve so I know what I am eating. The restaurant is not fancy and it definitely caters to a specific Asian market but if you into good food, it does not matter. The parking is a bit of an issue as there is very little parking and you have to hand over your car keys to reception so that they can repark your car so that they can fit as many cars into the parking as possible. you also have to pay 25 NZ dollars a night for parking which I think is very steep. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I really loved my stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator as it is noisy and also a room that does not face the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACHHOBSONST, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Nerosha G,

Thank you for your hotel review, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

It’s rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts (In this instance, our Housekeeping) and the hotel’s high quality and service. This sets us apart from the rest. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Auckland City Hotel a leader in excellence for many more years to come.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.


Sincerely,
Victor Fung
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found the room cold and bare with insufficient bedding and a howling gale coming through under the door. There were no pictures on the walls and no attempt to make the room anything other than functional. We stayed 3 nights and the bathroom floor was not cleaned in that time. No room service and no choice of dining within the hotel. A block of flats overlooked our room limiting privacy. Perhaps the newer part of the hotel was more up to standard? Not what we expected or hoped for.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACHHOBSONST, Director of Sales at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Pattiboos

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. We value your feedback as it helps us improve our guest services.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest needs. We apologize for the shortfalls during your stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We deeply regret the poor experience and negative impressions you may have had.
We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.


Sincerely,
Victor Fung
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at The Mustard Seed Malaysian Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.