We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St to your Saves list
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

we stayed at the property for two nights. hotel rooms were small but neat and clean...the staff was very helpful in arranging a pick up for us from auckland airport. its a value for money stay and the location was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    197
    126
    39
    18
See reviews for
72
209
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

my husband and i stayed here for 3 nights while we were sightseeing in the auckland area. the room and bathroom were clean but other than that, not all that great. we were on the 6th floor and had a view of apartment buildings on all sides. we were charged $25 for parking each night, and had to leave our keys with the front desk and check in and out each time we left and came back. the only air conditioning was a very small unit in the bedroom with a vent that blew hot air into the bathroom every time it was on. really the only reason i would stay here again would be for the location - not even a full block from the sky tower, and a short walk to the harbor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We were quite pleased with our stay at this hotel. We got a good rate($90NZD). Our room was quite spacious and very clean. Comfortable big beds. The room had a mini fridge. We received an hour of internet each per day for free and then they charge you. The area is close to town, which is nice. However, it is right across the street from the homeless shelter, so there are some interesting characters walking about. They tend to get a little more active and angry after dark, which makes you walk more briskly to the hotel once you start to get close. But other than that I would recommend this hotel for the value

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Room was tidy, clean and met the basic needs. Location is great - central to everything, right next to Skytower.

Issues began with customer service, as has been pointed out - it is severely lacking. Don't stay here if you want good customer service. The kettle was filthy inside so I called down for a new one, the lady who spoke barely any English assured me one would be sent up. Nothing appeared for 30 minutes, so I called and spoke to a man who sent one up eventually. Basics like good communication (the same language would help) and being actively engaged with customers would be a good start.

My biggest complaint is the parking, $25 a night (which is steep) and there is very limited spots and it is a hassle to get in and out with the door.

Overall, if you aren't driving, it's a good central location. Just don't expect much in the way of customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Generally stay at this hotel for work when in Auckland (booked by company). Rooms are spacious with well equiped kitchenette area.
Fine for work, good location with easy access to motorways.
Reception staff are always super friendly and helpful!

Restaurant - have had breakfast & dinner there, I would opt to eat elsewhere.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The hotel is alright for a short city trip to Auckland. The location is quite centrally. Rooms are clean. Windows do not close fully, so in winter it can be cold. Internet is free for one hour. Facilities for tea available in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Where to start?? The room was very tiny with too much furniture and a very large "air cooler machine" with a large vent hose going into the wall. There was no room to put our luggage with the excess furniture. We did manage to stack a few pieces of furniture to provide a little space. The "cooler" machine was very loud and right next to the bed. It did NOT cool the room, but did heat up the wall where the hose went into the vent. We were afraid the wall would catch on fire. The room faced west so the sun made the room very, very hot. Opening the window did not help at all. The bed had a very shabby and dirty-looking comforter on it….in such a hot room! There was one very short towel rack in the bathroom which was inadequate. The bathroom floor edges and behind the toilet needed scrubbing. The WiFi was very very slow but it did work. We found that WiFi in New Zealand to be very slow and very expensive most of the time. We didn't realize this was a precursor of things to come.
Positives: The restaurant was adequate and met our needs for 3 breakfasts and 1 dinner. Nothing special. Location for getting around town was adequate…just kind of a shabby part of town.
We were on a 10 week trip "down under."

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at The Mustard Seed Malaysian Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.