We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St to your Saves list
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Auckland
brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night here and were very impressed. I have stayed in Auckland hotels that are the same price as this and they were miles away from this quality. The room was great, flatscreen tv, good shower, comfy bed, room was in new perfect condition. 1 hour of free wifi was enough, I personally expect to pay for wifi at hotels because it is a cost to the hotel which is fair enough to pass on to the customer. Check in staff are doing a great job... in particular Antonio who was helpful and friendly. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    197
    126
    39
    18
See reviews for
72
209
55
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My Wife and I spent 2 nights here following our arrival in NZ. The hotel is situated near the Skytower, and there are several bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The room was clean and tidy and had all the usual necessities, including a refrigerator, although the hotel had crammed a sofa into the room and it wasn't possible to sit on one end of it becausec the bed was in the way! Complimentary Wifi would have been useful, given that many of us these days have wifi enabled devices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a bus trip to Auckland for the All Blacks v South Africa . This hotel suited us s it was in a handy location, close to Sky City.The rooms were clean and tidy. Beds comfortable.
Couple of convince stores handy, one with a kebab shop included.
Staff were generally ok, didn't have much to do with them apart from check in. Stored our bags after check out, till leaving for air port.
Overall a decent budget hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Internet is cheaply rationed, could be bit more generous considering we rely on it a bit these days. Parking can be easily found across the road at reasonable rate.
There was no kitchen in our room, but cutlery was promptly made available.
Staff is very courteous and room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Only stayed one night, but was very pleased with rooms.
All the the Staff from Counter to cleaners were very helpful, nice to have a pleasant welcome from all who worked there.
I would recommend to anyone,
Possible need of some English food at restaraunt, like steak ,not much variety ,if you don't like spicy food.
Rooms were very clean and modern, with a good hot shower.
Beds were comfy with plenty of fluffy pillows.
Flat screen TV and alarm.
Coffee and tea making with Microwave an extra .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

For our first stay in Auckland, we were booked at the Auckland City Hotel.the staff were very helpful and were able to accommodate our additional guest at last minute. The package we were given included breakfast however we would have much preferred including parking charges instead. We were not asked for our breakfast order and what was served included, warm bacon, scrambled eggs, two fried frankfurts with French toast with syrup and icing sugar allow the same plate... Not exactly the perfect breakfast for type 1 diabetic....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I have to admit that this was one of the good hotels, with nice rooms, good location, good service and cleanliness. Hotel is 10 storied building with plenty of rooms. I stayed in twin bed room for 2 weeks.

Room was was quit large with 2 beds, plenty of lighting, a TV and sofa for relaxing, a chair and a small table if you want to work. Beds were good enough and i don't have any problem during my sleep. Room was very quiet and In terms of cleanliness, service maid always make sure that room is clean and all the bed sheets and towels are changed everyday.

Each room has separate AC machine and heater as compared to conventional all in one. Though heater takes some time to get up to speed.

Each room also has a working kitchenette, which contains microwave, refrigerator, toaster, water heater, 2 hotplates, daily useful utensils and cleaning gear. Service maid daily cleans the utensils and they were upto mark.

Front desk was also good and they were always quick in their services. They also have good internet plans with great speed.

I didnt tried their restaurant, as I am a vegetarian but always I see 4-6 tables busy with guests so probably it was good too.

Hotel location is good, it is walking distance to Skycity tower and you have many grocery stores & liquor shops near by.

All in all it was a comfortable stay with great value for money and I would recommend everyone to stay there.

Room Tip: Take front rooms for sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at The Mustard Seed Malaysian Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.