We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Course - A tough test of golf!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Kidnappers Golf Course

Cape Kidnappers Golf Course
Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Excellent Course - A tough test of golf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a New Zealand great! The course has some great views but the essence of the course is the tough layout. It is definitely the type of course that you want to play more than once just so you know some of the bounces you may get off of the sloping fairways. The greens are grainy and were a little slow on the day we played. The view of the course from the air is the best and the Pirate's Plank is a great, tight par five!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A wonderful golfing experence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was shouted for my birthday by my wife. I played while she enjoyed the walk. We both walked as we had plenty of time and just wanted to enjoy the stunning day that Cape Kidnappers turned on for us. I just loved this course although not as technical as a course like Kinloch. From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were very well looked after. The course offers a very good golf challenge and with it simply stunning views from the cliff tops, it is amazing. The club house facilities were great except for the cold shower afterwards which was a small glitch.
I will return one day!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Course, Great Service, Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

You have to want to get there to get there, but once you do the experience is worth it. We flew in with a tight time frame to make an international flight out of Auckland at 3:30 that same day, and the staff was very accomodating to help us get off as early as possible. We didn't feel too rushed, though I would have loved to have taken more time to stop and take it all in, and play a second round. Some challenging holes, but very fair. We were curious why they routed hole 11, a par 3, the way they did, with the tee box on the cliff playing back to the green inland. It would make a great short par 3 the other way around, with a small green, where you could make double bogie as easily as a birdie depending on accuracy--but still a really well designed golf course. We took considerable effort and expense to pop up and play one golf course for one quick round, and we were glad that we did.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Golfers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This would rate as the best course Ive played.

In September 2013 we travelled as a group of 4 from Melb, Aust with the sole purpose of playing the course. Handicaps ranging from 7-25 had no impact on the playability of this championship course. The drive from the front gate to the clubhouse gets the blood pumping for what is in store. The service is 5 star, clubhouse tastefully decorated and then theres the course.

I couldn't talk up the course enough, its amazing, every hole makes you think and most of the long holes give you a choice of a lay up or extra advantage of taking a driver. Beware, the fairways might be wide, but go off them and its a lost ball.

We played the course twice and we are already talking about when we will be back!
We flew from Melb to Auckland to Napier Hastings which worked well for us.
We stayed 20mins from the front gate of the course in a town called Haverloch North, great area to stay, great bars and restaurants...

Cant wait to return...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A spectacle for spectators and golfers alike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the moment we called Cape Kidnappers golf course to book our tee-off time, the service was fabulous and the staff were very helpful. They informed us that we were welcome to bring spectators (5) to watch our golfer (1). We booked 3 golf carts and set off with our rented golf clubs, and shoes. We purchased visors and sun hats from the well stocked, immaculately presented (think Ralph Lauren store) shop within the stunning country style club house. All the staff could have been straight out of a Tommy Hilfiger catalogue, dashing, stylish and with American or Canadian accents. Fun, for playing a tourist in your own country.
As a non-golfer, the spectating was fantastic. The vistas are breath taking, the greens were beautifully manicured, there were bathroom facilities on the 6th and 16th holes, and the 9th hole brings you back around to the club house where we had waiting pre-ordered lunch. A delicious selction of hot sandwiches, the chicken and mayo bun was particularly delicious. They offer Whittakers Peanut Slabs of various flavours, as well as Mars bars, Snickers bars, and a few muesli bars as snacks you can take with you on the course. There are facilities to clean your ball, and rubbish bins about every 3rd hole as well.
The course planner was very impressive, we have kept it as a really lovely souvenir.
I am considering taking up golf simply so I have a reason to return! It was SPECTACULAR!
It was easy to find, we just inputted the address to Google Maps and it took us right there. It is a good 15-20 minute drive once you enter through the gates. The 40km/hr speed limit really helps to slow you down and set you into the groove of what was a truly relaxing day, away from it all!
On a side note, the bathrooms and locker rooms in the club house were luxurious, roomy, and had everything you could need! All in all, an exceptionally impressive set up. Well done!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Kidnappers Golf Course also viewed

North Island, New Zealand
Hawke's Bay Region, North Island
 
North Island, New Zealand
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Cape Kidnappers Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Kidnappers Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.