We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little different” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation

Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation
Save
You added Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation to your Saves list
142 Pakiri Rd., New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #671 of 1,061 Hotels in North Island
1 review
“A little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the large double rooms - the bathroom alone was nearly as big as some hotel rooms I've stayed in. Each room has a small terrace - the overall concept is really well conceived and it makes for a relaxing place to stay. The term "rustic" is used to distract the guest from the fact that it is now slightly dated and shabby. Nevertheless the accommodation is good value.

The restaurant has a nice flow to external areas and the atmosphere is really good, but the food is overpriced as some others have commented. Breakfast was excellent, but the pizzas weren't as good as the menu descriptions led us to expect. Service was not the best. Waiting staff worked hard but the restaurant appeared to be disorganised and poorly managed.

Beer from the attached microbrewery is excellent. We stayed on a Saturday night when there was a gig on - note that residents have to pay the ticket price if you want to stay in the bar. If you want a peaceful night, don't stay here on gig nights because the revelry will continue in and around the accommodation for some time after the band finishes.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Very fishy Caesar salad - way too much anchovy!!

The menu also seemed fairly limited.

The staff were very lax, had to ask three times for water and twice for a high chair, by which time someone else had got.

Overall not too impressive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We actually spent the night here. The room was fairly large. We were across from the kitchen, but we never heard anyone go in there. Big bathroom. Comfortable bed....even had a heater, which we needed.
We arrived kind of late and they were shutting down the kitchen, but they hung around to make sure we had something to eat since there isn't anything really close to there. The beer was really good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

What a great find in the middle of the North Island.
Fantastic converted sawmill now restaurant, bar, boutique hotel and brewery.
A must do stop on the NORTH island of New Zealand map.
The Sawmill also plays host to some of the very best musicians in the world\.
Chances are if a big act is p[laying somewhere in NZ the will generally do a small private unannounced giog here at the Sawmill it is legemndary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We called in last Saturday for brunch with a friend from overseas. This was our first visit at the Sawmill Cafe as we usually eat at Matakana after the Saturday Markets.

Great interior from the old sawmilling days and there's an excellent range of seating: indoors; under a covered porch and outside in the sun or under trees.

The service and coffee were great, but:: Prices: I've never seen Eggs Benedict so expensive anywhere else in the Auckland region.

Overall; this place is marketed widely and I'm pleased we have now been. But it will be our last visit here.

If you found this review helpful, please vote.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have been to the Sawmill a couple of times and have always enjoyed it. It is fair to say that it isn't serving the most complex of menus but it is the Sawmill Cafe, not the Sawmill 5 star restaurant.

The wife and I went there for my birthday. We wanted to relax, watch Trinity Roots (played that night) and not travel hours from Auckland.

The place is casual. We arrived and no one is in too much of a rush to do anything but service does come in a reasonable time and it is super friendly. We enjoyed a pizza bread in the early afternoon and a couple of pints of their locally made beer. All very nice and conveniently charged to our room.

Our room was one of the four (I think) private rooms (there is a dorm as well) which has a little patio area and the usual amenities. It is simple, functional and the planet hugging toiletries and home made fudge are a great addition. We freshened up, read a book and wandered back later in the evening for dinner.

Dinner was a couple of courses and was well done. It is what I would expect from a very good cafe. The wine list is really good and all fairly priced. They put us in an area where we could watch the gig later that night without having to abandon our table. Its fair to say that some of the patrons got into it a little later than others but you have to expect that when a venue is hosting a live act which they regularly do. Signs clearly state that courtesy is required and a stern voice reminded some overexcited youths only once while we were there. (It wasn't me)

The next morning we woke, refreshed and left. We would have stayed for breakfast but they don't open the restaurant till 10am which is a little late for us. It wasn't ideal but hardly overshadowed what was otherwise a great trip.

Highly recommend the Sawmill for a relaxing atmosphere that is pleasantly complimented by a vibrant feel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and secluded go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cere
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Basically a large pub with rooms, the Sawmill was a real disappointment when we ate there. First night when we went to just look at the menus they had a Reggae/Ska evening.....definitley an acquired taste. Second night we arrived before 8.00pm and found the place virtually deserted and the only food available was a $25 pizza.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation

Address: 142 Pakiri Rd., New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,061 Hotels in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leigh Sawmill Cafe and Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.