We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply - Huntaway is a precious jewel in the Northlands! It is truely a Luxury Location Sensation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huntaway Lodge

Huntaway Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huntaway Lodge
Save
You added Huntaway Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wainui Rd | Te Ngaere Bay, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 1,069 Hotels in North Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply - Huntaway is a precious jewel in the Northlands! It is truely a Luxury Location Sensation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I had five nights at Huntaway (in the fabulous Retreat) and honestly loved every luxurious minute of it. David made us feel totally relaxed and perfectly at home, while 'wonder woman' Victoria seemed always to have our every need pre-covered perfectly. Food superb. Went diving locally through Dive North. The hot tub is positioned in possibly one of the most spectacular view points on the North Islands- don't believe me? - then u try it out.
Please, please leave Huntaway just exactly as it is- as we're coming back!
Oh! If you do not say WOW!!! on arrival then you have booked the wrong place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the lodge during our honeymoon. Richard&Rowan welcomed us very warmly and we had a very pleasant stay. The view is stunning and having breakfast on the deck was simply fantastic. Rooms are newly and beautyfully decorated. We had two dinners at the lodge, both of them delicious. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Speechless.... My husband and I spent four nights in the Retreat which was just perfect. The views were stunning and the view from the private spa was just as incredible. It was the perfect place to relax, read, watch the stars from the spa at midnight and eat. You will want for nothing.

We want to thank the host for his wonderful (and hugely proportioned!!) breakfasts and for a truly superb Christmas evening.

The only downside... everywhere else we stayed after Huntaway Lodge felt like a complete disappointment! Believe me - you will not want to leave this place. I'm not usually an overtly emotional person but I really did cry when we had to leave the tranquility and beautiful setting. I would truly recommend Huntaway Lodge to anyone and would love to return again.

Room Tip: The Retreat offers wonderful seclusion and privacy if you feel you would like a little more space to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Situated on the coast out from Kerikeri in Northland this boutique property is sited high above the beach and cove looking out to the Cavelli Islands. The views are spectacular from each suite, and from the main deck where breakfast and dinner are served in appropriate weather. The climate is sub-tropical, the service by owners and staff is exemplary and nothing was too much trouble. A superb evening meal was a highlight cooked by one of their excellent chefs.
Each suite is luxuriously furnished and equipped and has it's own deck. There is a heated spa pool right on the top of the cliff looking out to sea. Guests acn have total privacy or mix with others if they wish. This lodge has to be one of New Zealand's upmarket accommodation gems.

Room Tip: Photos can be seen on the property's own website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Huntaway Lodge in early January, 2012. Huntaway Lodge overlooks Te Ngaere Bay which is near New Zealand's Bay of Islands; the views from the property are absolutely stunning.

We were a group of four and occupied two bedrooms. Each bedroom, the common areas, as well as the spa at the lodge all have enormous windows facing the Bay. Due to the lack of light pollution, even the nights were star-filled and gorgeous.

The Lodge is impeccably clean and artfully arranged with many interesting decorative elements. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with fresh, local foods both mornings we were there. We were visiting friends in the area so we didn't eat any other meals at Huntaway Lodge, but the menu looked wonderful, and we understand they bring local chefs in to assist with meals for larger groups.

The spa (or hot tub, for Americans) is kept warm and in a very private location just a short path away from the guest rooms. It's sits up on a ledge with an incredible view of the bay and the stars at night. The landscaping has been recently upgraded and is very well done. It creates a very nice setting with plants that are typical for the area.

We spent the few days we had relaxing at the Lodge and exploring the nearby outdoors. There are many small beaches just minutes away for swimming and sunbathing and great hiking trails to explore with more spectacular views in the immediate area. Kerikeri is the nearest major city and is about a 40 minute drive away.

David, the owner, was a wonderful host and shared great information about the area, the Lodge, and particularly the plants and flora on the property.

Our stay was the perfect place for us to wrap up our whirlwind tour of New Zealand. We are already planning our next trip and will absolutely be returning to Huntaway Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

closing our life in hong kong , we head straight to northland, it s just magic, they re is no one, only you cattle, beaches, amasing view and kind people
huntaway lodge it s exactly what i like, amasing view, peace, silence, space in the room, super clean and again amasing deck to see the view
Our host david could not be more charming and took care of us like his children friends with kindness and sincerity
i'm very happy we came here, very good start

Room Tip: we stay in the retreat roomh our daughter and it was perfect, huge room huge living room, could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt, germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

we started our NZ trip in auckland and drove all the way up to northland on our arrival day...and it was worth it. there is nothing much to say: it is simply perfect. caroline is a wonderful host, with knowledge about the region, one of the friendliest person we met in NZ and we met lot of nice kiwis :). actually she made it really hard for us during the next weeks in NZ as her cooking is just simply wonderful...travelling in NZ and eating in restaurants we quite often remembered the wonderful food on the wonderful verandah overlooking the pacific. a perfect place to relax and enjoy. thanks caroline.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huntaway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntaway Lodge

Address: Wainui Rd | Te Ngaere Bay, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 1,069 Hotels in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Huntaway Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huntaway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.