We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will use again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry

Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry
Wellington Passenger Terminal, 6021, New Zealand
6444716188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #484 of 1,094 Activities in North Island
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry sails every day between New Zealand’s North and South Islands. The (New Zealand owned) Bluebridge experience offers warm, friendly ‘Kiwi’ hospitality amidst stunning New Zealand scenery.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will use again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

They were a good company to use on an essential part of our holiday to cross from one island to another

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    56
    15
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Good Easy check in and with a Van. Ended up being late for our return Ferry had a call from BlueBridge to check we were still coming arrived just as Ferry was leaving however they moved us to the next ferry without any extra charge very good customer service will use again and reccomend. Only Negative is on the crossing from Wellington to Picton there was not a lot of seating so unable to find a seat however was fine on the way back to Wellington.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Cook Strait Crossing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Family owned business that provides very good services and onboard facilities, although access around the ferry was limited on our southern crossing ferry, but much better on the northern sector on a different ferry.
We were fortunate to have absolutely superb summer days on both our crossings providing us with an exceptional Marlborough Sounds experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Travelled with motorcycle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first trip on the (family run) Bluebridge with a motorcycle. Check in was painless and timely. Travelling by bike definately has its benefits (first vehicle to board and first to depart at the other end). This enabled us to get a good seat on board too.

To anyone travelling with a motorbike: Remember it is your responsibility to tie your bike down. We took our own tie downs and helmet locks.

We needed to change our return date once then the return time but with one simple phone call to the 0800 number it was done.

Friendly staff, and coffee and food prices reasonable too. Having now travelled on both the Interislander and the Bluebridge we would choose Bluebridge every time. (Also cheaper to purchase tickets).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sailing down the sounds on the bluebridge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Have sailed on the bluebridge a few times in 2012 & have enjoyed the experience everytime. Great service & meals at the cafeteria. Need to fix a few seats as there seen to be a few more broken each trip. But overall a great sailing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.