We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rangitikei Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rangitikei Farmstay
Save
You added Rangitikei Farmstay to your Saves list
422 Makuhou Road | RD2, 4876, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 1,195 North Island B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Family Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great place, great people! If you are looking for a perfect long weekend away from the rustle and bustle of the city, this is it. Grab the kids, togs & tennis racks and be sure, no one will be bored. The pool, tennis courts and lots of hiking possibilities are great not to mention all the animals and their lovely owners Kylie and Andrew. We had a blast going pony riding, feeding and patting the rabbit, the horses, the dogs, cats, goats, sheep and chicken. We even did a horse track through the beautiful hills of the Rangitikei country site. The glow worms at the creek and the marshmallow fire were just awesome. Kylie is a fantastic chef, so if you just want to read a book and get your star-meal ready for you, choose from their yummy menu - fresh produce of their garden and farm guaranteed.
Can only recommend a stay here!!!

Room Tip: All huts and rooms are renovated with lots of love and taste. Find all farm relicts and farm history...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are two couples travelling around NZ. We are both from farming backgrounds and wanted to experience a NZ farm. The farm is beautiful but the accommodation was very expensive for what was offered.In fact it was the most expensive evening of our whole three weeks and we had stayed at some very good homestays.
The rooms were very basic to put it mildly. One room had a double bed, a heater and two cupboards. It had no tea making facility. It was comfortable but occupants had to walk to the other cabin to make a cuppa, which was about 40 or so metres away. There was power in the cabin so a kettle could easily have been supplied. The second cabin had a nice view but was VERY basic. The floor was cement and had deep gapping cracks and what looked like oil stains on it. And I mean huge oil stains not drops!!! A small area was covered with a type of rattan style matting. The floor was not fully covered. A fridge was supplied along with a kettle, cups, tea and coffee !!! The bed was comfortable but there was no electric blankets or heating of any kind!!!! When we asked for a heater Andrew seemed surprised! He found one in the garage for us. The heater failed to heat the whole room and by the morning I was huddled in the bed with a dressing gown on and my fluffy slippers in an attempt to keep warm!!! There was no water tap in the cabin but a jug of water was in the fridge.
We did know, before arriving, that the second cabin had no bathroom and we would need to share the bathroom near the first cabin, but did not realise we would have to walk quite so far to go to the loo in the night. The path was lit by solar lights but we had to be careful as it was not good lighting.
Outside the second cabin was the pump for the house water and this ran on and off all night disturbing our sleep.
The bathroom was clean and had a toilet, new handbasin and shower rose coming off the wall. The bathroom window had no curtain. The shower had no curtain or shower base. There was a wooden bath mat but no other towelling bath mats were supplied. When you showered some water went down the drain and the rest flowed towards the door as the floor was uneven and the shower lacked a curtain.. This then left the cement floor wet and slippery.
The evening meals were supplied to the room and were tasty but certainly expensive for their content.
We are all from country towns and appreciate rustic but expect the basic comforts when paying $130 a night, per couple, for accommodation ( dinner and breakfast added an extra $110 per couple) So that was $240 per couple for meals and accommodation for one night.
We had sent several emails before arriving and the owners were aware that we would have liked to have had a conversation about farm life in NZ. and from the emails we received back we thought ,although it was a busy time, that the farmer would at least have conversed with us about the farm. This did not happen. Kylie did give us a run down on the farms history when we arrived.
When I went to pay I was told they had no automated payment service and they did not accept cards! We managed to find enough cash between us.
We were disappointed with the experience at this farm stay and left early.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RangitikeiFarmstay, Owner at Rangitikei Farmstay, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
What a shame that these Australian guests felt this way. The rooms, as all are, are displayed with photographs and explained in detail to all guests before any booking is made. That way guests do not feel pressured into staying somewhere they are not pleased with. We make no secrets of any of the features of any room, quite the opposite in fact. All other guests have enjoyed their accommodation and have left satisfied enough to take to Trip Advisor and leave great reviews. Although these guests arrived a day earlier than booked on the busiest days in the farming calendar, they were given an hour long tour and description of the farm and its history. When Andrew went out to introduce himself and talk to the guests he was greeted and dismissed without any questions about any farming activities or what was happening the next day. What these guests didn't mention was they chose not to engage in any of the activities that other guests have loved, and by leaving early missed the opportunity to see a muster of 2000 hoggets very close to the house which is very rare and a great photo opportunity. The coldness of one room could have come down to the fact that the guests opted to open the windows and left them open during the night, making any heating redundant. Here at RF we go out of our way to ensure every experience is a great one for our guests. We do value feedback which is why we have chosen to respond to this. We take all suggestions on board and constantly strive to create the best stay possible at RF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed with Andrew and Kylie as part of our recent NZ getaway. This place really is a gem and a must see for anyone who wants to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and enjoy the fresh air and beautiful surroundings NZ has to offer. We were provided with a warm welcome, beautiful facilities and a delicious home cooked meal, including a home-made cheese cake which was a real treat and so enjoyable. We went on a hike to the table on the hill where we were treated to stunning views of the mountains and country side (this was our highlight) - thanks again Kylie and Andrew for a lovely weekend retreat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We visited RF with our two children (3 yrs and 6months) and had a fantastic time. Kylie and Andrew were great hosts- very patient and accommodating with the children. Our 3 year old had a ball and didn't want to leave. Kylie was kind enough to let her bottle feed her pet lambs, ride their two ponies "Dude" and "Beau", feed the chickens and collect the freshly laid eggs! She hasn't stopped asking to go back and see Kylie :)

We also took a beautiful walk up to the most amazing view point- 360 degree views, from the coast to the snowy peaks of Ruapehu. Breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I took my 11 yr old son and his best mate away for the night. They loved it. They were fascinated by the musem pieces in the Bunkhouse and made lots of use of the pool table. Thank you Kylie for suggesting the walk up to the picnic table. The view was amazing and it was well worth the hike. We really enjoyed looking at the glowworms and just being able to see the night sky without light pollution. Kylie and Andrew made us feel welcome and the accomodation was great. The boys enjoyed meeting the animals and you are very luck that Barney is still there. They were trying to work out how to get him into the car. Thanks so much for a great weekend Josh, Elias and Marie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Andrew and Kylie have a wonderful get away place here. We really noticed the peacefulness and friendliness.

Rangitikei Farmstay is not the average place to stay. It provides great quality, extremely clean, value, and welcoming hosts.

A down to earth working farm with elegance and character.

Thanks
John & Linda

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Andrew and Kylie really made us feel welcome at Rangitikei Farmstay, not only to their fabulous farm, but into their family. We were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), and we stayed in the cosy West Hut with its outstanding views of the hills and rolling countryside. Our children immediately felt at ease and at home as soon as we arrived and they loved looking around the farm in it’s beautiful setting. Kylie’s yummy Tan Squares were a lovely welcome treat with our coffee as we settled in. The children loved all of the animals, but especially feeding Jack Lamb, riding Tux the quite horse and their lovely pet dogs Barney & Jamie. The walk up to the picnic table was a highlight and the views from the top were absolutely amazing. Kylie’s New Zealand home cooking was fantastic, and we were never left hungry. The night walk down to see the glow worms was enjoyed by all. Andrew & Kylie gave us excellent advice on our onward travel plans. We really enjoyed our stay at Rangitikei farmstay and didn’t want to leave. We would certainly recommend this farmstay and for us all it will always bring back happy memories, as it was a highlight of our trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rangitikei Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rangitikei Farmstay

Address: 422 Makuhou Road | RD2, 4876, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 1,195 B&Bs / Inns in North Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rangitikei Farmstay is located in a picturesque farming area halfway between Taupo and Wellington, in the lower half of New Zealand’s stunning North Island. Situated on a quiet rural road, RF provides the ideal location for a heartland experience that will appeal to many. RF has a range of different accommodation options to suit every taste; the RF Homestead, Eastern and Western Chalets and RF Bunkhouse. The Farm Museum also showcases agricultural history from the Stewart family’s 100 years on the property. Visitors are sure to leave with fond memories and fantastic photos of their experience on a working hill country station. Guests are welcome to experience life on the farm, interaction with all the animals and activities to suit individual tastes. With knowledge of the local area gained from being the fourth generation on the property, RF can provide a wide range of activities both on and off the farm. Activities include but are not limited to: Corporate functions, horseback and pony riding, mountain biking, ATV rides, farm walks, 4WD tours, clay bird shooting, golf driving, beach trips, bush walks, guided Sambar deer hunting, possum and target shooting and a glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rangitikei Farmstay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.