We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your $ or time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's Riverside Bar & Restaurant

Coco's Riverside Bar & Restaurant
85 South Perth Esplanade, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
9474 3030
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 1,540 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $12 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your $ or time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

As regulars for years for buffet breakfast, today will be our last visit. Obviously change in staff and quality of food has made me write this review. The chef didn't know how to make an omelette, it was a frittata. The chef then kept dropping the pans. Started to question if he was a genuine chef. The hot buffet area took a long time to be restocked and the quality and range was very poor. The place is also a hazardous area, they couldn't cram anymore people in. Don't waste your time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    163
    83
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant that has stood the test of time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have eaten here many times for business and with my family. It has an excellent menu with delicious food, an extensive and high quality wine list, with nice discounts for members for their wine club.

The staff are very friendly and their hostess is extremely professional, polite and highly efficient.

The views of the Swan River are sensational.

A Restaurant that is the same as it was 20 years ago but that is a good thing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Lively, noisy but great food and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great birthday party of 8 with superb food and the chefs went out of their way to cater for dairy free and 2 other special requests. 1 diner asked them to repeat a crab dish she had had before but it was not on the menu and they obliged. Noisy restaurant so you have to shout! My Caesar salad was absolutely superb but beef stroganoff was a bit heavy on mushrooms and light on meat! Seafood and steak dishes were great I am told. Some of the table service was below what I would expect from Coco's but they responded very well to the feedback. Wine was excellent and not expensive. Fantastic views across the river to the City. You have to book a few days ahead to be certain of a table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“At Least Thrice A Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is my go-to restaurant for most of my celebrations (anniversaries, birthdays, etc). I come here at least three times a year for the steak, which is always cooked to perfection. Service is always excellent. Never had a bad experience. Also a good place to go if you love wine. They have an extensive range you can try by the glass or bottle. View of the Perth skyline is a bonus :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, atmosphere, food, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Went there for a company party. The location is great. The restaurant looks nice on the inside, and their outside is lovely (however you have to book in advanced to get a good view seating). The food is excellent. A big shout out to their Steamed Carnarvon king prawns and their Margaret River Wagyu sirloin. Very pricy though. The service is excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco's Riverside Bar & Restaurant also viewed

South Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Coco's Riverside Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco's Riverside Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.