We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's good value for money in Perth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Swan Barracks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Swan Barracks to your Saves list
The Old Swan Barracks
6 Francis Street | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Brescia, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's good value for money in Perth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Considering you are in Perth, this is the place if you are looking for a clean place. The staff is amazing.
Two kitchens, tvs, dvd room, cleanings everyday, toilets and showers are always clean and hot water never lacks.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    10
    16
    43
See reviews for
1
19
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Seeing this hostel on a perth map having won a backpackers award we thought it would be ok. First of all, it's not cheap. Cheaper than a hotel but more expensive to renting an appartment! For our $500/week for us both, We shared a 4bed room with really nice people! No air con, but it wasn't hot yet, cockroaches, filthy shared showers/toilets that were full of moths, staff would kill them and leave them on the floors, staff would come hoover rooms and barge into rooms and bathrooms. No privacy at all. One or two really nice staff, the rest are really rude and passive. Charges for internet, when its beside the library where internet is free, even for non members. As a hostel it should provide backpackers with good deals, instead they are making a mint for doing nothing. Lazy, lazy, lazy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This backpacker has everything you would need, including a bar, snooker, TV, Pay for it Internet.

But this is not the cleanest place on earth. Which means it's average in Perth ( but it means it's under average in European terms).

It's a place to stay and you get some sleep (i was in a 4 dorm) and that's it. I was lucky to have fun people to stay with - so it made the stay OK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Window glass missing, cramped rooms with no air-con, small kitchens, not enough fridge space, you have to rent cutlery and really dodgy not flat pots and pans, tv in upstairs dining room has no aerial so awful picture and all for $29 per night. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Don't expect much being a backpacker and all but this hostel is absolutely disgusting, covered in dust, dirt, grime everywhere. Every room is crumbling down, broken windows, disgusting showers/toilets covered in blood, sick and pubic hair and the females toilets stank of fish and sick for 3/4 days. The staff are not helpful and look at you as if you are stupid. They boast about having cockroaches and bugs all over. Wild birds fly into the kitchen area. No quilts, just get given 2 sheets! Pillows are all stained and stink of mould. Beds are horrendously squeaky. Carpets are stained and stink of sweaty feet... Just an absolute disgrace. Would be okay if they actually cleaned it like their website says they do. Its always brawling with alcoholics and they charge diabolical prices for old washing machines/dryers, very slow internet.. This place is just a hell hole. Would'nt stay here if I was homeless, a carboard box would be better..

Room Tip: No air con so rooms are ridiculously hot and clammy and stink of body odour..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

lots of changes to the good, clean hostel, lots of function over the week, verry helpfull and friendly staff, great place to meet other backpacker from all over the world.
verry old building, needs some TLC, but it is verry well looked after by the management.

Room Tip: go there and have a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I don't usually write bad reviews as I'm not too uptight about things. If you're staying in a hostel you can expect it to be a different standard than a hotel.

This hostel on the other hand was completely awful. The staff are useless and extremely rude! The whole place is filthy and has signs everywhere warning they will fine you or evict you for various things. The halls have dirt caked in the carpet and the place looks like a frat house that hasn't been cleaned in years. The ladies toilets are right in front of low windows that look out into a public parking lot, the showers had mold and grime an inch thick, etc.

When we checked into our private double we had been there for maybe 20 mins before a man showed up to work on our fire alarm at it was broken. He was there for 2 hours while we had to sit there and wait and it was our last day in western Australia and our only day to explore Perth so we were pretty annoyed. There was a used condom laying on the floor when we got in our room and the staff didn't care at all when we told them.

The free breakfast is some stale toast and stale cereal with no milk (have to buy it).

Stay away from this place!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Swan Barracks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Swan Barracks

Address: 6 Francis Street | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Old Swan Barracks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Swan Barracks Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Swan Barracks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.