We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nightmare!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bambu Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Bambu Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Backpackers
75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
highlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nightmare!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had read some bad reviews about this hostel, but went there with an open mind. The first problem was the communication barrier with the 'receptionist' who spoke little english, and handed us wet linen for our beds. The room looked pleasant enough and was reasonalbly spacious, there were a lot of insects lurking behind the units, but i kind of expected that.
The main problem I had with this hostel was the excessive noise level, i was aware there was a bar in the front of teh hostel before i booked, but did not expect this to lead to drunk people gathering outside my door in the early hours, and the music to be so loud that the walls actually shook with the base untl it went off at 3am, so it was IMPOSSIBLE to sleep before then. The music from the bar next door added to this. On our second night there, the electricity timed out in our room 4 times, which we were told was due to the high voltage being used by the DJ, crazy!!! when i went through to comlain the 4th time,the guy just said there was nothing he could do so we had no electricicty for an evening!!!
Also, the intnet is not free as advertised, reasonable rate of $10 for 3 hours though, but it doesnot work unless you are sitting in reception.
I would like to point out that I do not expect much from a hostel, and am really not one to complain, but I really dont recommend you stay in this hostel unless you are happy to not sleep!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    4
    3
    21
See reviews for
Families
0
6
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I don't have many nice things to say about this Backpackers. When I arrived it took about 15 minutes before someone either bothered asking me if I needed help. I was allocated my private room with bunk beds and that was neat and clean. In fact the decor of this backpackers is quite cute but not like the photos on their official website.

My first night sleep was interrupted by the disco in the front of the backpackers and evidently, the cover band on the other side of my room wall. This continues for the 3 nights I stayed at the backpackers. The location of the backpackers is right in the heart of Northbridge and it's surrounded by pubs and clubs. At night it was constantly busy.

There are plenty of restaurants close by and it's location is not bad because you can walk to most things - but the backpackers itself full of 20 something year old drunks who appear to be having a long term stay in the place because the dorms looked well lived in and absolutely FILTHY!!!! I won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed at bamboo for 2 weeks and had the best time of my life. This is a party hostel located across the street from the Dean(nightclub) and next door to the Shed (another party location), so the music is blasting all night. Also the hostel plays music untill 12 am... this is not a place to have many good night rests, but if you are looking for FUN and GREAT people this is the place to be. There will be a lot of goon drinking, late night hang outs in the laundry room and many laughs. If you do nee to get up early for work and need sleep ...its better to stay somewhere else...
There is a party at the hostel every friday night...
The hostel is ok cleanliness wise... but not gross. If in will be in Perth again ... will deffenately go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Was looking for a lively hostel with a party atmosphere. This hostel definitely ticked that box, however overall security of the place was very poor. Would definitely not recommend leaving valuables behind! After a night out in Perth came back to the hostel to find someone else sleeping in my bed (despite it being obviously taken!). So had to spend the night sharing a single bunk with a mate.

When complaining to the staff and asking for a refund, the manager just plainly said 'no refunds' - no apology was made for overbooking or allowing people to sleep freely in the hostel. If I'd known it was so lax I'd have never paid either!! Was fuming!

Avoided the kitchen, stuff was stuck to the side and it generally looked disgusting even by hostel standards.

Don't stay at this hostel if you plan to sleep at any point.

Staff unhelpful and uncaring.

Toilets/ shower facilities - 3 for at least the potential of 30 users....

Would not recommend this place unless you are desperate for somewhere to stay and even then I would try to avoid paying as apparently this is so easily done!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights, absolute kip of a place, dirty, dingy rooms and the most unfriendly staff, I couldn't wait to leave here!!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is one of the poorest hostels I have stayed in. In fact, I had my shoes stolen in another hostel yet I would return to that one before I’d stay at the Bambu again! The inside of the hostel is dark and dreary as there are no windows, which is pretty depressing considering all the Aussie sunshine outside! The rooms are ok, but there is no proper ‘’chill out’’ areas, it is just not an environment that invites you to sit, converse with other guests, read, watch tv.. in short spend time there at all! The front room of the hostel is laid out more like a bar and pretty much turns into a club on Friday and Saturday nights, with the manager playing cheesy dance music on the decks... It would suit anyone who just wants to party, but as I was working and looking for a long-term ‘home away from home’ environment it didn’t suit me. if looking for a relaxing place to stay or even just some comfortable surroundings then steer clear!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

great location and nice staff, helped us re book around a tour, we foiund the place clean and tidy but the staff made a big difference for us

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bambu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Specialty lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bambu Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.