We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small serves.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Teapot

The Red Teapot
413 William Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
08 9228 1981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Cantonese
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very small serves.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The servings are very small. There were 4 of us and we ordered 3 dishes and a fried rice. Normally, this is sufficient, but after finishing these dishes, we ordered an extra dish & rice.

The food was delicious & tasty, although there was a lot of onion with the dishes that we chose (combination seafood, mongolian chicken & satay beef).

Firendly & prompt service by the staff.

It is BYO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Took my family here while they were over visiting as had heard good things and it didn't disappoint. It's a tiny place and would be easily missed if you didn't know it was there. The food is great, the satay chicken starter was a hit with everyone. Such good value so we ordered more than normal so we got to try lots of dishes. Great find

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Traditional Cantonese Style Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I really enjoyed coming here with a few of my friends for a going away dinner.

The food is presented nicely and the restaurant is very clean, warm and inviting. The staff (waiter) that severed us even chatted with us for awhile about Singapore (Where our friend was going) and it was really awesome!.

I loved the food, it was tasty, fresh and colourful.

I will be coming here again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“satisfy my craving for chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my partner enjoyed a very nice meal at The Red Teapot on a busy Friday night. As recommended by our concierge, its just five minutes walk to the restaurant from our hotel.

It is a tiny restaurant and is full on Friday night so we only get to seat outside.

Excellent and friendly service and delicious food. Add to that the fact that they easily accommodated us without a reservation (although only outside table available and we were very happy people.

The dinner started with amazing chilli and salt squid as recommended by the waitress , followed by prawn toast. Then came the very delicious prosperous chicken as what they call, followed by fried rice with sweet and sour pork AND mixed vegetables. still craving for the excellent standard food.
If I were a local and could come back again more frequently, I know I'd be trying a lot of different dishes from the extensive menu. But for a couple of tourists who were just looking for a good meal at the end of a day, this place hit the spot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Won't be going back there in a hurry...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I haven't visited the Red Teapot restaurant for a year, but remembering the delicious food they used to serve, I decided to head over there for dinner with a group of friends. We booked a table for 8PM and when we arrived it wasn't ready. The restaurant was full. There were lots of dirty dishes lefy laying around and people were being hurried out the door by the waitresses, so the next lot of diners could get in. We finally got to sit down close to 8.30PM, our table was cleared of dirty plates and wiped with the dirtiest, foul smelling piece of cloth. After that, noone had shown any interest in us for another half an hour. I asked the waitress for some wine glasses and the request was ignored. When she finally came to our table to take our order, she told us they had no more wine glasses! Luckily, people at the next table offered to give us one of their glasses, the rest of us drank out of bottles. Not a good start to the night.

We ordered the Banquet B for $30 pp. The only dish worth mentioning from the starter selection was the Chilli & Salt Squid. It was well cooked and tasty. The other 4 dishes were plain boring, quite tastless and oily. The mains were disappointing as well. The seafood was overcooked and the portion was VERY small. The vegetables consited of five pieces of one green vegetable that were again overcooked and tastless. The only outstanding dish was the Prosperous Chicken - it did not disappoint with it's delicate flavour and it was cooked absolutely perfectly with the crispy skin. The rest of the dishes isn't even worth the mention. We made a mistake at the end to order fried ice cream - they ran out of fortune cookies which were part of the menu, so for $2 extra we got the ice cream. It was awful. Seemed like it was prepared a few days earlier and there was no usually warm and crispy exterior.

Overall, the experience wasn't pleasant. The restaurant looked run down and dirty (walking to the bathroom, you have to go through the kitchen - the floor was absolutely filthy, the kitchen looked dirty - when was the last time the health department payed them a visit???). Luckily we had the Entertainment Card - there is no way we would have paid the full price for the bad service and the average food). Sorry to say this, but we will not be coming back any time soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Teapot also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Red Teapot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Teapot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.