We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst pub in Perth” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moon and Sixpence

Moon and Sixpence
300 Murray Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
9338 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #255 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst pub in Perth”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Do not even go in this place, it as very rude staff on the door who cannot even tell if someone has had a drink or not, i have been on few occasions one in which i never had a drink and was made to wait in a que boycott this place, they is better places to drink in Perth city

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    52
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great selection of British Beers on tap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

British pub in the city centre of Perth. Interior decor is that of a British pub and they also have a reasonable outside area overlooking the street. Food selection is not large, typical pub meals but nothing special about them. What I liked was the selection of British Beers on tap but beware you will pay through the nose with the price per pint way up there with the most expensive around - the price I was prepared to pay as at least two of the beers I had not seen on tap anywhere else in Perth.
Service is a little slow but it was very busy when we were there. It did improve as the number of patrons dropped.
Toilets recently renovated and nice and clean and regularly serviced to keep them that way- a nice change in a busy pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Good pub without the usual loons and idiots, Kilkenny on tap food on a plate what more can you ask for in a great location !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District,UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Usual pub fodder but service was let down on this visit with the food being delivered stone cold instead of piping hot due to a failure of the food ready notification system. The reheating of food instead of preparing a fresh meal however is not acceptable in these circumstances. Reporting this again produced the usual lack of feedback in these places as it seems that customer satisfaction is pretty low in their list of priorities.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Friendly Saloon in the Wild West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Wild West city of Perth is a great place to visit and a has some great restaurants and hotels.. The Moon & Sixpence on Murray Street is one of them. I had to entertain a crowd of clients recently attending a trade show in town and having been there for a drink previously I thought I would give it a go.
The quaint name is a reflection of the old style pubs in England and has a cosy atmosphere without feeling too small. Even on a busy night the service is efficient and you don't wait to be served. The young vibrant staff at "the Moon" are really friendly and extremely helpful.
I had called ahead and a large section of the restaurant area was reserved for us. There is an extensive menu to suit all tastes and food is ordered from the bar. We all had a few drinks while I wrote down everyone's order. When the nice lady at the bar saw the list of nearly forty dishes including entrees, the look on her face was priceless and I had to admit we were expecting a long wait for dinner. But before we had time to finish another drink the food was transported from the kitchen by a string of waiters accompanied by cheers and clapping from everyone. The food at "the Moon" is pub fare but everyone was full of praise for the high quality and wide choice of dishes on our tables. The staff cleaned up efficiently and we finished off the night with another good quality bottle of wine.
The Moon & Sixpence is a friendly English style pub serving good food with a wide selection of ales and the wine list although fairly standard won't hurt your hip pocket.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon and Sixpence also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Moon and Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon and Sixpence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.