We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy without the airfare!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Restaurant

Galileo Restaurant
199 Onslow Rd | Shenton Park, Perth, Western Australia 6008, Australia
+61 8 9382 3343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Italy without the airfare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've only been twice, so far, but we just love this restaurant. The waiters are so friendly, helpful and so charmingly Italian. We love the food. the beautiful touches that make you feel so special. For example, we ordered bruscetta to share as a starter, and they brought it on four big plates with a piece each - you don't get that everywhere!
Our food was cooked to perfection, both meat and vegetables, and sauces all delicious.
We went early in the evening, and there was no slowness to the service, as other reviewers have complained about - but as our waiter told us, in Italy people do not rush their food, they take the time to enjoy it, to enjoy the conversation, to digest the experience and make the most of it.
We will certainly go back again, can't wait!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    33
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Classy and classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Fancy italian restaurant although they are keeping a genuine "Ristorante Italiano" atmosphere...excellent food and polite service, extensive international wine list. Pricey, but must go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They've got too big and forgotten what made them great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I've been at least 4 times before and enjoyed the experience but unfortunately last Saturday night, they were packed but they have lost what made them great because they took over the space vacated by the great Star Anise when they closed. Customers are coming along under the illusion that it is still the same restaurant but as they are twice as big they haven't adjusted and so the service was slow, took 20 minutes to order drinks and then anther 10 to arrive and then only one drink( red wine that had oxidised). The food when it finally arrived was not delivered at the same time. It was very disappointing. When you get much larger, all businesses must change their systems to cope with the extra pressure. You can't have an intimate experience when the service is irregular and you can tell that no-one is coping. It could be a classic example of success leading to failure. I'd recommend Numeruno UNO (South of the River) if you want to experience attentive service and fantastic food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the visit ….we will definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Excellent wait staff [well above the quality usually expected in Perth] with superior knowledge of their food and excellent knowledge of their wines.
Service was very attentive without being in your face with all requests being full attended to.
The important part:
The food was excellent, [again, well above the quality usually expected in Perth] with knowledge and an understanding of the cuisine. All meals were well presented on plate, arrived with appropriate spacing between courses and were cooked to a very high standard. The chefs cares and unfortunately that is missing in most places.
I have to disagree with a previous reviewer.....there are "NOT" that many good restaurants in Perth [I am the previous owner of a top 5 restaurant in Bali] were they easily excel Perth restaurants quality of food by a large margin .......
Galileo would rang quite high in any Country.... in Perth it ranks as one of the best....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A group of friends experienced an enjoyable lunch at Galileo. Staff were courteous and friendly and complemented the fine food for which there were no complaints. All left sated and happy.
I ordered the caporetto which was excellent and would recommend this dish when it is available.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Galileo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.