We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ancora il migliore - Still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galileo Restaurant

Galileo Restaurant
199-203 Onslow Rd | Shenton Par, Perth, Western Australia 6008, Australia
+61 8 9382 3343
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $22 - $88
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ancora il migliore - Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It's hard to find new ways to add to what I wrote a year ago, when I characterised Galileo as the best Italian restaurant in Perth. We were last week again at Galileo, this time to celebrate my nephew's engagement. As he and his fiancee are soon leaving for a trip to Italy, Galileo was the perfect choice. It showcases the best of Italy.
Galileo manages to combine two elements that are rarely found together in Australian restaurants - simplicity and sophistication - and it's a powerful combination. The menu provides a good range of choice without being so large as to invite scepticism as to freshness or pre-preparation. I can vouch that the beef carpaccio was absolutely perfect. Unfortunately, in the main course, we had been beaten to the duck. Between us we ordered a mixed roast; the lamb; the veal; and a pasta special. All were excellent. From the reaction, I understand the tiramisu was also excellent - and a long way from what is often offered under this name! Everything is fresh and prepared with skill and respect.
After starting with a prosecco, the extensive wine list ensured we had an excellent Italian red wine. Some of us finished with a Sagrantino Passito (heaven in a glass) and others with a grappa.
As always, the service - from booking to departure - was first class. Professionalism, knowledge and confidence mean that all the staff enhance the experience. They are friendly and helpful, ready to give information and advice, but never intrude.
What still surprises me is the value for money at Galileo. Main courses still around $30 in a restaurant with decent linen, fantastic food and professional service. Where else in Perth?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    26
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is outstanding in every way, The food is faultless and the attention to detail is shear perfection. We have eaten at many Italian restaurants throughout the world and I can honestly say that this is without a doubt my favourite place to eat.

Una and all the staff make you feel more than welcome and you always find yourself looking forward to returning as soon as posible.Chef Vincenzo is amazing, we have eaten here countless times and he never fails to produce shear perfection.

If you honestly want to eat the best Italian food and choose wine from an exceptional and very extensive wine list then there is no way you could go past Galileo Restaurant.
A.Kent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully cooked and presented. Service friendly and not pretentious. Veal and lamb just melted in the mouth. Deserts were great. Roman coffee with sambuca just superb.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“2 of 4 main courses not good, BUT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ate there last night, wine was great, 29 Dollars for wine of this quality is outstanding, starters wonderful, we all had something different, then 2 of our main dishes (out of 4) were not good, the other 2 were lovely, we ate what we could, when we had finished the main course and asked about our meal, we did mention the problem with the 2 dishes, they did not charge us for the 2 dishes, without being asked to do so, I appreciate things go wrong sometimes, so I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exquisitely simple - great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The menu is small, the decor is pleasant but unremarkable, and its located away from the busy shopping areas of Perth.

And it is exquisite.

On entering the air-conditioned venue, we were greeted and seated immediately and enjoyed some pleasant conversation with our waiter. We had some delicious bread and oil, and a pancetta/parmesan salad for starters. For the mains I enjoyed very tender beef short ribs while my friend had the artichoke and pecorino ravioli, which he thoroughly enjoyed.

We washed it all down with a traditional Italian lemon soft drink that I not tasted before, and loved!

For dessert, I had the nougat parfait, and my friend had the chocolate parfait (a special). The portion size was perfect, and they were very smooth. During dessert, our waiter heard us talking about visiting Italy, and kindly offered advice about accommodation and places to visit. We were delighted to receive some extra little handmade chocolates and meringue with the bill.

Even though we were seated directly next to the kitchen, we never had cause to worry about noise or quality service. It was a beaut night out, and it came to $50 each.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galileo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galileo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galileo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.