We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the past at Miss Maud's” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Maud Swedish Smorgasbord Restaurant

Miss Maud Swedish Smorgasbord Restaurant
97 Murray Street | Miss Maud Swedish Hotel, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)
+61 (0)8 9325 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Description: The fully licensed Miss Maud Restaurant Perth is a fine food landmark in the Perth CBD where you can enjoy incomparable Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Smorgasbords or select from the equally tempting a la carte menu 7 days a week. With live entertainment every night and Sunday lunch, you'll see why Miss Maud is a favourite Perth restaurant dining experience.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid the past at Miss Maud's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Miss Maud's is kind of quaint decor-wise, but you don't go there for the food. My experience told me that you don't go there for the food either.

The seafood selection is dismal, there is a selection of herrings of various types which I tried but could not enjoy. The bread selection is OK. The soup is pretty awful - tastes like it came out of a packet with lots of MSG. The roast meat was pretty good but there were no vegetables to accompany - only carbs, carbs and more carbs. The cakes for dessert looked OK but tasted like cheap mass-pruduced product.

Lunch is $35 per person. Dinner is $55 per person. Warm tap water is free but all other drinks are expensive.

There are far better buffets in Perth which offer far better value. Don't do it to yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    231
    104
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
617 reviews 617 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
“Re-live the past with a smorgasbord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's a very long time since I have eaten smorgasbord buffet style. If you like doing it this way, or want a trip back to the past that our friends took us on, probably not a better place to do it in Perth. Lunchtime $35 all you can eat is very good value but bring your appetite. The seafood was fresh with a huge selection including prawns, mussels, seafood salads and a top selection of variously prepared herring and my favourite rollmops. Salads were plentiful along with a number of cold meats. Hot meat selection was limited to beef but numerous hot vegetables to accompany. If you are a dessert person, there is enough selection to fill up solely on sweet choices. Table service drinks and plate clearing by staff very efficient and all friendly. I'm told breakfasts are popular here and also open for evening meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perth's biggest ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I went to Maud's this week after all the glowing reviews on TA and I seriously can't reconcile those reviews against my experience. The place is tacky, a bit quirky with the grumpy Singaporean uncle singling Elvis-style, and totally packed with punters intent on devouring every last morsel, regardless of its taste.

Yes there are oysters - very tiny oysters, and as the plate arrives it is devoured within about 3 minutes. There are pale tiny prawns. There and small yabbies in a tired old wicker basket which looks like it hasn't been washed for quite a while. There is a miserable selection of salads which seem to be there for appearance's sake only. There is a carvery with beef & lamb, 8 hot dishes of rice / potatoes, 2 types of very ordinary soup and some bread. Some cakes for dessert and then the lovely (not) coffee & tea table which resembles something from a Broken Hill motel.

It cost me $55 plus drinks to sample the above. I left hungry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The worst buffet you can imagine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to Maud's this evening, had the experience, a bottle of wine and left $140 poorer.

Had the bill been say $80 we could have accepted the scraggy prawns, the soggy salads, the cold fried drumsticks, the absence of any non-starch vegetables or the generally scrum-like feeling of so many over-eager diners piling their plates oh-so-high.

140 Australian dollars is a lot of money for dinner and unless you are seriously focussed on quantity over quality you will leave Maud's feeling unsatisfied.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Miss Maud's Warwick Shopping Centre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Twice now , we have waited 30 minutes for a simple coffee order.
Meals arrive without any couteous language of enjoyment and no one checks whether the meal is ok.
While the staff are not unfriendly, they're not well trained and the restaurant is neither personable, nor efficient.
You can't pop in for a cuppa because you'll be there for a long time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Maud Swedish Smorgasbord Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Miss Maud Swedish Smorgasbord Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Maud Swedish Smorgasbord Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.