We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midori Teppanyaki and Bar

Midori Teppanyaki and Bar
27 Lake Street Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Formerly Midori) (Perth CBD)
9328 2177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #957 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Price range: $0 - $93
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We went on a Sunday lunch and were the only people in the restaurant. The food was tasty and we all seemed to agree, there was ample. I felt that it was rushed, the next course was happening before we had finished the one we had. We all enjoyed our lunch but very, very pricey.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    4
    5
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fun dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been to Midori twice now for birthday celebrations. We have found it fun and food ample both times. Our teenage children loved it and for large appetites found the servings more than ample. As it is entertainingly prepared in front of you the portions do look small but it is more than enough by the time the meal is over. My husband loves the salmon, my kids love the dumplings and chicken. The chefs are entertaining and clever, charlie and johnny! The service is friendly and excellent...we never had to ask for drinks. They ask you to move to a table for dessert to allow other customers to experience the teppanyaki not to offend you as some previous reviews have mentioned.

Lowlight: toilets upstairs
Highlight: food, entertainment factor and excellent service

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Although the service was friendly we were asked to move away from the tapenyaki service area to have our dessert.
The meal was overpriced considering the size of portions and the typical tapenyaki entertainment was lacking.
If you are looking for a pre nightclub dinner in a rowdy bar/restaurant...sure. if you really want tapenyaki experience don't bother

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best tepanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

awesome and fun dining experience , set menus to choose from to cater for vegetarians, seafood or meat lovers

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of time & money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Went here as their sister rest Seizan had stuffed up our booking & it was for sons 21st. Arrivied to be left sitting in cold bland foyer (fish tank does not constitute style/decor) for 20mins ???? then squashed around table that should have accommodated 8 max (not 10).....waitress arrives with drinks - $8.00 for light beer - in a stubby, no glass at this classy joint ????? Admittidely chefs were entertaining for the short time they are there.......they rush you through your extremely overpriced meal then shuffle you off to the bland foyer again to eat your 1 scope of green ice cream with a cherry on top.......Seriously the most overpriced place I have been to in years. Service (or lack of it) is shocking.......never got asked if we wanted any more drinks, no coffee....OH & I forgot to mention I had taken a cake for my son.....hmmmmm, never appeared.........save youself you weeks wages & go to Bali for a week of real service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midori Teppanyaki and Bar also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Midori Teppanyaki and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midori Teppanyaki and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.