We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine vietnamese at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant

Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant
349 William St, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)
(08) 9328 2127
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Genuine vietnamese at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

If you stick to the genuine vietnamese food at Viet Hoa you will be enchanted. However give the vietnamese Chinese dishes a miss. Their duck is succulent, my favourite is the bun bo ciao, grilled meat with lemongrass served hot on cold rice noodles, mint, soya shoots cucumber and lettuce, with a sweet vinegar and chili kind of sauce. If you are into soups their Pho (beef soups are nice. I find the star anis a little bit overpowering. If you can tolerate caffeine, the vietnamese coffee is a must, with condensed milk. Dessert I would give a miss there. If you still have some room, head to one of the oriental shops nearby for a durian, melon, red bean or other ice cream pole. Bon Appetit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    40
    69
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonder what has gone wrong here? Give it a miss!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have frequented this restaurant many times over the past 7 or 8 years and was always impressed by the tasty authentic food, the good service and obvious enjoyment of the staff who worked here. Went tonight for dinner and was disappointed. The tables were grubby, the staff indifferent and the food not up to scratch. Has it changed owners? I used to recommend this place but no more. I will be looking for a new place to go to in William Street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love a good pho in winter!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stopped by for some pho this afternoon! Yummy!! I loved the durian smoothie. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stir fried fish with ginger and mushroom with bean curd dishes were great and rice paper rolls with mince prawns were awesome and so fresh!! Also you will love the Avocado drink!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It's all about the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

If you wonder why this place is always busy and always full of people it's because the food is great.

Not the most atmospheric Vietnamese dining but the food will have you coming back. Having spent much time in Vietnam the dishes and flavours take me back every time.

The service is mostly fast, prices reasonable and generally clean and comfy.

I have eaten both take away and dined in for years and still believe Viet Hoa is one of the few best Viet restaurants around.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.