We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and busy Vietnamese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant

Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant
349 William St, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia (Perth CBD)
(08) 9328 2127
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy and busy Vietnamese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recommend Viet Hoa to every friend and family member visiting Perth.

Unfortunately, the prices have risen and I used to say it was value for money but now we are paying just that little bit more. In saying that, the service is quick and the food is tasty

It is generally busy with many people in and out however I choose to go during the week rather than a weekend. The noise is terrible at times as it rebounds of the walls.

Happy to return over and over again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    76
    28
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Average Vietnamese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Value is good, place is not special, staff at times is friendly and at times isn't. Quality is intermediate. You get what you pay for.

In other words not bad but also nothing special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good stop for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Service was efficient and helpful. The prices were very reasonable, especially considering the large portion sizes. Cheap drinks too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special to look at.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

But walk inside and it's jam-packed! I realised quickly why it's so popular, as the food was so quick to be served and very fresh. It's a BYO and the food is unbelievably cheap so it can be a fantastic night out for people on a budget. People don't go here for the décor, or the service, but the food speaks for itself. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to as authentic as you can get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First impression was that the place is PACKED. I mean, you have to queue up for your seat and orders. Normally this is a great sign that the food much be good (or cheap).

Decided to try out the place with a friend. Had to wait about 10 minutes before we could get a seat (not too bad). The place was petty hectic and noisy (expected in a typical asian restaurant). The weird thing is they seem to serve food that are not Vietnamese in nature (like Laksa which is a Malaysian cuisine) .. I think if we step into a Vietnamese restaurant, we should try Vietnamese food.

The menu list was really long (I mean, they had all sort of food being served there and can be confusing). Service I must say is quite efficient.

Ordered the:
1. Rice paper wrapped spring roll - fantastic ...
2. Fried springroll - simply gorgeous
3. Vietnamese coffee drip - tasty but I think there was too much milk and not enough coffee
4. Lemongrass Chicken rice - wow!
5. Beef Pho - not as nice as I expected. I had better ones in Paris and Toronto unfortunately.

You make payment at the cashier ... all in all a great experience! But I think they have diversified too much in the food offering ... becoming non-Vietnamese already.

BYO with no corkage charge.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Hoa Vietnamese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.