We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a casual dinner date” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawadee Thai Cuisine

Sawadee Thai Cuisine
279 Rokeby Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6008, Australia (Subiaco)
(08) 9381 8398
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Subiaco
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Subiaco
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for a casual dinner date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My hubby and I had dinner here one Friday night. We sat outside on the terrace which was really nice. The food was very tasty and decent sized portions. I definitely won't recommend coming here if you're rushed, but it's perfect for a relaxed meal.

I thought prices weren't bad compared to other Perth restaurants. Regulars popped in throughout the evening and I can see why they keep coming back. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Authentic, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We visited on a Sunday early evening and had no problems getting street parking nearby. The restaurant is situated in a beautiful old house and we were seated in a front room by the window underneath a ceiling fan to cool us on the hot day. The service was good. We had the curry puffs for an entree and they were heavenly. Our mains of prawn curry and grilled fish with tamarind sauce were very authentic in flavour. We enjoyed the meal, but found it to be quite expensive for what it was, but I guess it's to be expected in Subi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
1,075 reviews 1,075 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 350 cities Reviews in 350 cities
655 helpful votes 655 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Don't rush here and don't rush back. Very standard and average Thai restaurant.

Its not even the best Thai in Subiaco (Lanna Thai takes that crown) so can't think of much of a reason to visit.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth wa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“average food, little bit pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

a mothers day outing as we couldn't get parked anywhere closer due to footy. we sat outside as the interior was bit dismal. ordered red curry beef, fried rice, chicken and cashew nuts and mixed veggies. all very acceptable and palatable but bit pricey for the quantity and quality. beef curry had maybe 100gm of meat in it, priced at $24.95. bit steep although it did taste nice just wasn't enough considering the price. same as everything else. plate of fried rice was a bit scant. hard to justify these prices when asian restaurants 10 minutes away in nedlands offer large mains which are good quality for a whole $10 dollars less. probably wouldn't go back but we just wanted to try somewhere different.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food a bit expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

we enjoyed the food and the prices were on the high side however this is to be expected in this suburb. wine list was good and had a decent variety

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawadee Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Sawadee Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawadee Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.