We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An evening out at the Punjab - Thursday, 7th June 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punjab Indian Restaurant

Punjab Indian Restaurant
371 Scarborough Beach Rd, Perth, Western Australia 6018, Australia
0894461111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,458 restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Award winning and highly acclaimed, Punjab has been a destination of choice for lovers of Indian food since 1981.Enjoy a meal made with quality ingredients by our '5 Star' Indian chefs.Punjab more than ever is "The Taste Worth Travelling For!"
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An evening out at the Punjab - Thursday, 7th June 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was a case of long-time-no-see. We had not caught up with some friends and, also, hadn't been to Punjab for around 6 months. Sooooo....glad we did it. The restaurant is conveniently located. Good parking facility-very handy on rainy wintry evenings. Punjab is very well done up. Everything from the furniture to the decor to the tableware was elegant. The staff is well-trained, polite and friendly. The food was delicious. Good portion sizes and served with a smile!!! Being vegetarian, we ordered paneer tikka for starters. They were perfect. Lightly spiced and mouth-watering. For mains we had the karahi mushroom, bhindi masala and yellow dal. Every dish tasted different and delicious. Our friends had ordered hariyali kebab(chicken coated with spinach) for starters, a butter chicken and a goat curry. They loved it all. We had an assorted breads basket-aloo kulcha, paneer kulcha, garlic and plain nans - all very fresh and a raita. Finally, the desserts-these were to die for!!! Again, we had an assortment for sharing - gulab jamuns - these were perfectly made, carrot halwa (yum!!) and a malai kulfi...aaahhh.. just great. The owner, Mr Tanveer is very attentive and keeps an eye out for everything. This just makes the place very cared for. All in all, a very enjoyable evening with friends. Definitely one of the top fine dining Indian restaurants in Perth. All their awards are well deserved.I'd recommend it any day!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    26
    20
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My partner and I get our indian takeaways from here since recently moving to the area.
The food is delicious. Fragrant, hot, tasty and generously portioned.
I'd highly recommend it for your curry fix.
The restaurant looks great inside too, it's on my list of places to eat out.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Indian in Perth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been in love with place since they opened. We regularly purchase take away when we are after some quality food to bring home. The Menue is outstanding, goat curry is fantastic, veggie Korma & beef vindaloo are the best I have ever eaten. Fruit naan bread is very special and the food & service is always very good. Seriously hard to beat this one I think. Even our children love the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Flavourful Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Terrific atmosphere, the worlds most attentive waiters, and fabulous food...there is nothing to complain about here!
My husband and I visit here as often as we can and we always take visitors when they are in town. Business dinners are always booked here too and they have never failed to impress.
Vegetarian and vegan options available for those who have limited diets but for me the Lamb Korma and Butter Chicken rule the roost!
The rest rooms are always spotless and there is a touch of elegance with beautiful paper hand towels and gorgeous hand cream.
Keep the Mango Lassi's flowing!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A feast was had by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We came late after the movies there were 7 of us got in by 915pm, it was all explained to us when I booked so we were all aware that decisions needed to made in a hurry.
The service in the Punjab was fantastic the staff were so good. We ordered and within a beer all our food had arrived .............a sumptuous feast we all agree
Definatley our favourite Indian ...................worth the drive I'm just glad in't not in Timbuktu

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjab Indian Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Punjab Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punjab Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.