We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful high tea!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Origins

Origins
207 Adelaide Tce, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (East Perth)
(08) 9224 7771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Perth
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful high tea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had a beautiful afternoon enjoying high tea at Origins. Freeflow sparkling wine, tea and coffee was plentiful and our waiter quite often asked if we would like to try a different tea or enjoy a coffee - great service. Our wine glass was never empty. Food was delicious and well presented and 'enough'. We were not rushed and were able to enjoy a long, pleasant afternoon in a beautiful setting with great company. Everyone commented at the end of the day that we must do this again!! Would definately recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting - disappointing food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We attended high-tea for my mums 70th birthday. The setting was beautiful - room decorations and table settings. However the food service was extremely slow. We had to ask several times when the food was going to arrive and when it did the savoury part was very disappointing. The salmon sandwich roll thing was dry around the edges where it had been sitting out for a while. And the selection for the savoury was limited. The sweet things were quite enjoyable luckily.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We ate in Origins last weekend when we spent a night at Pan Pacific, the hotel gave us a 25% discount. The food was fabulous, the lamb was the best we had ever eaten and the beef ribs delicious. We found the price quite reasonable and enjoyed a glass of wine with dinner. The customer service was fabulous, very attentive and helpful staff. Only negative was the dessert we shared, it was a bit of a disappointment as we thought popcorn pecan caramel cheesecake sounded divine. It was just a baked cheesecake with some popcorn and a very thick piece of glass like sugar caramel with a nut in it. Would definitely eat there again though and try a different dessert!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Best high tea and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We can here for a girlies high tea on Sunday.

The food for Hightea was amazing!!! Wasn't what we expected. We thought it'll be like scones and sandwiches. Nothing like that at all. Lots of variety of food!! From caviars, cauliflower shooters, seafood shooters to scones, and yummy cakes!! Plus unlimited flowing sparkling wine all for $52. If you drink this is so worth it. Your glass is always full without you noticing they just keep filling your glass. Of course there is a tea list. Can't have Hightea without tea.

Boys you would love it too. Great service too. Make sure you dress up. No jeans they do have a dress code. It is after all in a 5 star hotel.

You will get a discount if you have the entertainment book.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High Tea perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I visited Origins on the weekend to celebrate a friend's surprise birthday, a table of 9 of us. I just want to say I am extremely impressed by the service we received, myself and my friends did not have to lift a finger and we enjoyed the food so much -- THANK YOU TO THE ORIGINS STAFF! It was a memorable afternoon, especially as my friend was having her birthday.
The staff made us feel like nothing was too hard or inconvenient, and I want to express my gratitude. I will be recommending Origins for high tea to everyone!
The food was so delicious, and it was obvious that care and attention to detail was made with every bit of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origins also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Origins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.