We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matilda Bay Restaurant

Matilda Bay Restaurant
3 Hackett Drive, Perth, Western Australia 6009, Australia
(08) 9423 5000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 1,540 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went there for Dinner on Saturday night. The service from the moment we walked in and taken to our table to the time we payed the bill was fantastic. Friendly and they seemed to be happy to be there.
The food was the nicest meal we have had in a long time. We have gone to a few other high profile restaurants but this by far is the best

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    88
    35
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch with my parents and were all thoroughly impressed.
Despite being pretty packed the service was excellent, friendly and attentive. We liked the menu and eveything that we ordered was beautifully presented and delicious- well my de-constructed prawn cocktail was a bit odd looking, but I put that down to my insisting on converting a starter to a main as I could not resist the prawns! Regardless I really enjoyed it and would definitely be very eager to return.

Wonderful setting and a perfect place to show off to visitors.Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich, switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well worth the short taxi trip from Perth CBD.
Food and staff were all very good, could not find fault.
It was a special trip for us to Oz, the setting was great and even though it was very busy 13 th dec, we had to ask them to slow down on our service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We ate lunch at the restaurant with family twice over the Christmas/New Year period and both times found the food and service to be very good. Unlimited sparkling or still bottled water for $5 per person is excellent value in a city where one glass of sparkling water in a restaurant can often cost as much or more. Good range of menu items. The best part however is the location. Ask for a table at the windows and you are ensured of an ever-changing view of river activity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food fantastic; Ambience ordinary;Service a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

On the 24th December my wife and I celebrate a great year past and toast to the year ahead. For the last 2 years we have been to Matilda Bay restaurant - this year also hosting dear friends on Xmas Eve.

Whilst the food was superb, some things about this years experience left us all very disappointed.

The service was very ordinary. Staff in the past would go that extra mile to find or recommend wines or dishes - no such luck this year. The gentleman collecting plates we mistook for one of the patrons! Whether he had been coerced into the role on the evening and hence was not wearing one of the restaurant uniforms we could only surmise.

The noise was exceptionally loud. The Restaurant was also serving a group of XMAS party revelers at their outdoor Pizza Oven- a group which also ventured into the down stairs bar adjacent to the major restaurant area.

This Restaurant has definitely lost its lustre and purpose. Is it 5 star dining, is it a relaxed mid tier dining experience with casual rather than fine dining or does it want to be both? The intent is not at all clear anymore.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matilda Bay Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Matilda Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matilda Bay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.