We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halo

Halo
Barrack Street Jetty, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
+61 8 9325 4575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $0 - $92
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
SydneyAustralia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our wedding anniversary dinner at Halo's was fantastic. From the moment we entered to when we left, we were looked after by Nat. Great waiter. Table near the water (which I requested) and we had the tasting menu with the 7 different wines. Great wines. This dinner was the best or on par with others similar and was very close to a One Hat Restaurant Como's in Blaxland. Enjoyed the food with some of the best wines I had especially the Frogmore Creek "Iced Riesling". Have found a supplier. Thanks for a wonderful and enjoyable dinner. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    60
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The Halo slips!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had fond memories of this restaurant from a couple of years back and looked forward to a return visit. But the food was disappointing on this occasion. My wife's crab and fennel starter was almost devoid of crab and had chilli in it - a real mis-judgement by the chef, since the delicate flavours were overwhelmed. My scallops were fine, but the chicken terrine that followed had very little flavour. A pity, but we'll give the place another chance on our next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

After reviewing many Perth restaurants, I chose Halo to celebrate my husbands 50th birthday. We were not disappointed . Our table was prime position, just metres from the Swan River, our waiter was great and nothing was too much trouble. The food and wine were excellent. Adequate portions at every course. As prices go in Perth I was presently surprised at the bill. Perfect setting, food, wine and staff. All in all I would describe this hidden jewel of a restaurant as understated fine dining, the perfect balance ... We will be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gourmet steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Beautiful position, friendly staff, amazing menu super for our last night & all the while the atmosphere of the lucky shag pub next door spills over.
The food was perfection
Thank you for making the last night of our holiday soooo special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fine dining with fine service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

You can't beat the location of the Halo restaurant it is on Barrack Jetty overlooking the Swan River. The service is exceptional. We were waited on with the fine balance of making sure that we wanted for nothing, discrete attendance and good conversation. The food was lovely, I had duck cooked just right and my husband had steak, again cooked just right. The piece de resistance was the pudding which was hazelnut praline, just amazing. Lovely evenling.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halo also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Halo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.