We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This would have been an average 3* if the price was reasonable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funtastico

Funtastico
12 Rokeby Road | Subiaco, Perth, Western Australia 6008, Australia (Subiaco)
08 9381 2688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 1,531 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Subiaco
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This would have been an average 3* if the price was reasonable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

In brief:

Wait staff - Very serious with any personality whatsoever. Efficient but under staffed so there was lots of waiting and calling them over.

Chefs - Pretty good. I like that you can see them cooking. Very serious almost angry looking but can cook ok. Not brilliant but ok. I had some veal which was over-cooked and not soft to cut. Needed a lot more tenderising and less time in the pan. There was not enough sauce either. I have had a lot better for a lot less.

Price - Way over-priced. 8 garlic prawns with mash and garnish for $42. Unbelievable. We had a voucher so it was ok for us but there is no way in hell I would pay that much. The dish was quite nice but again, not brilliant, just nice.

Drinks - Very large range of wine and beer. This was a highlight (unfortunately).

Over-all - Not bad. There is no way I will be going back and I am glad I had a credit voucher to use as it is obscenely over-priced but again, that's the greed of Perth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    44
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trendy eatery, Great place to be seen..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Went with Friends to Christmas event in July, very busy trendy eatery, pasta very good the service was a bit slow and the waiters a tad arrogant but overall a very good Place to be seen.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh Dear Oh Dear Oh Dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited Funtastico for lunch at noon today. The first thing I noticed was a very dodgy smell inside the restaurant.....more on that later. On arrival, drink orders were taken and delivered promptly, but that dodgy aroma continued to compete with the nose on my Pino Grigio. Upon request I was informed that the "Fish of the day" was red emperor, which I duly ordered. I took a quick visit to the ladies and the dodgy smell became increasingly obvious as I proceeded towards the rear of the building. Once inside the ablution areas it became overwhelmingly obvious that I had reached the source of the odour which was permeating the entire restaurant and that it was none other than stale urine. My appetite for lunch had diminished substantially when I returned to my table to be greeted by a staff member who advised that the red emperor was not available. It seems that that "The Fish of the day" was in fact "The fish of yesterday" and the only 2 leftover portions had already been ordered by previous customers. I settled for a smoked salmon salad which was overdressed with balsalmic vinegar & very average. Don't think I can stomach another visit to Funtastico!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Food was tasty and well explained by the waitress.However a bit over priced.
Ambiance was standard, but very noisy as the roof is very high and if the restaurant is full you cannot hear your conversation!
Suggestion some sort of material needed on the ceiling to absorb the sound!
Staff friendly, but advise to order a starter as it takes time for the courses to arrive.
Location good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Loud and Sterile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want a quiet meal in Subiaco dont bother with this. It is a large open warehouse type room and invariably the music is not condusive to conversation. The Food was okay not good enough to make up for the lack of atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funtastico also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Funtastico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funtastico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.