We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CBD Restaurant & Bar

CBD Restaurant & Bar
Corner King & Hay Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
0892631859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #795 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $12 - $65
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Overrated, expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food ordinary. Prices extraordinarily (high) for what you get. Service slow and poor. When eventually drink and food order taken you are paid no attention for second or third round drinks. Seeming inability of grillers to grill steaks to ordered specification. (Order it whichever way you want it will come to you well done almost to the point of dry). Unfortunately we had a hard stop time wise otherwise both our orders would have been sent back to the kitchen. They will not see us again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    28
    35
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“unplanned dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had the opertunity to dine at the CBD last night,Had a fantastic steak with sides,service was great could not fault.will go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rydges_Sales_Manager, Manager at CBD Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi raymond s,

Thank you for your review.

It's always great to receive positive feedback about our food and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Since I was not host of the Rydges hotel they asked my credit card as deposit prior to give me the menu. I have been in hundreds of restaurants around the world but this was the first time I experienced such request. I tolerated the request only because it was quite late in the evening, few restaurants were still open i was tired and did not wont go around looking for another place. The rib eye I ordered was hard and stringy. Forget it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Over Priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very slow service and poor service. I was shocked by the prices, and am usually ok with expense if I see value for money, but these prices were way over the top. Area was per booked for forty however no notice was taken of the rope barricades. Food served was average and the line up for the bar was poor. Pizzas were really yummy, but no plates were offered let alone serviettes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had dinner at the CBD last Saturday night thanks to a gift voucher. Given that this is a restaurant "& Bar", I didn't have great expectations. However, the food was brilliant and well-worth the "up-market restaurant" prices. Service was good too once the theatre crowd had left.

If it weren't noisy and difficult to maintain a conversation, as is the case with just about every restaurant these days, I'd give it a 5.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CBD Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to CBD Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CBD Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.