We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bellhouse Cafe

The Bellhouse Cafe
Mends Street, Perth, Western Australia 6151, Australia
(08) 9367 1699
Improve this listing
Ranked #537 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great little place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were lucky to get a table without a booking on a busy Sunday morning. Staff were very helpful. Head front of house girl was amazing at her job! Beautiful views, great food, good coffee. Lot's of locals, so I suggest booking ahead.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brekkie at the Bellhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had the ten dollar special bacon and eggs breakfast at the Bellhouse recently. Available Mon to Fri from 9 to 11. Good value, reasonable food, nice location, room for our bikes, etc.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Had a long girly lunch here recently to celebrate a friends birthday. We had the Turkish breads to start - wasn't enough to choose from in regards to "nibbles to share", however it was fine. I had the Barrumundi "Fish of the day" with salad and it was excellent. Great wine list - all reasonably priced. Service was good too. We ended up staying for about 4 hours.

The location is fantastic. Situated on the Jetty in South Perth overlooking the lovely Swan River and the city of Perth - gorgeous! Nice to drop in for just coffee, cake or a light sandwich. Or to have a meal, chill out and enjoy the view. Very casual.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Visitors from the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

During our 7 day visit to Perth, we visited the BellHouse Cafe twice. The food was excellent and the service oustanding. On the first visit we tried a Burger meal and it was the best tasting, best presented burger we have eaten anywhere in the world. The chips were perfect, no grease, great taste. Good value for money too.
The location is the icing on the cake.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“An expensive mediocre food experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The best thing about this restaurant is it's location on the South Perth jetty. It has so much going for it, but unfortunately it doesn't live up to its potential.

I've visited twice in the past two months, initially with a team from work, and more recently with some friends.

The food is okay, but nothing spectacular. I've found that there might be one thing on the plate that is good, but then there are one or two other things on the plate that let the whole thing down. Unfortunate. What's probably more unfortunate is that you're paying quite abit for this moderate food. You're better off paying the same or a bit more and heading up the road to Cocos and feeling better for it.

What is probably more disappointing is the service. Some of the wait staff try their best to make you feel welcome. But they are let down by those who stand by the counter and can't be bothered, or stare at you as if this is highschool. I don't think I'll be heading back again with work, or with my friends.

Overall, an expensive mediocre food experience...

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bellhouse Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
South Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Bellhouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bellhouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.