We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner beware” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arirang Korean BBQ Restaurant & Cafe

Arirang Korean BBQ Restaurant & Cafe
91-93 Barrack Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)
(08) 9225 4855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #324 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Price range: $16 - $20
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Perth CBD
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Diner beware”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to arirang for lunch. We all thought the BBQ meat was enjoyable. An egg noodle dish was also ordered but that was very salty. After lunch I needed to go to the ladies room whilst my partner paid. The bathrooms are upstairs and were in a disgusting condition. I decided it was best to go to Myers or David jones after and headed out. There was water all down the stairs which I didn't notice until I slipped. The waitperson was standing at the bottom of the stairs at the time and rushed up to me. I asked her to get my partner. She then ran down the stairs, grabbed one of the yellow slippery when wet signs and brought it up, placed it next to me before going and getting my partner! My partner sat with me on the stairs assessing my range of movement before moving off. No one from the restaurant came up to offer assistance and we left. I suffered a sprained ankle and bruising to my back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Quite acceptable dinner option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I tried Arirang while in Perth on business. I liked that the restaurant was busy so I didn't feel too lonely eating alone. Everyone seemed to be having a good time and enjoying the food. The other guests seemed to be diverse: a few groups of business men, some families with children and a few small groups that looked like friends.

The service was of an acceptable standard - neither poor nor exceptional. The food was good quality and tasty. The portion sizes were good.

The prices were okay. It wasn't a cheap restaurant but there were options available for less than $20 that represent good value for money (taking into account that the restaurant is in Perth, which is an expensive city for accommodation and dining).

I would recommend it if you are in Perth and looking for somewhere easy to eat a good quality meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Always a good feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We live in Perth and Arirang is one of our favourite restaurants.

My wife and kids just about always have the BBQ and I have the Dolsot Bibimbap. They also have a good range of Korean beers to accompany the food.

The chocolate fondue dessert is a big-time favourite for all of us.

We have been on many occasions including birthday and other celebration times and have always enjoyed the food there.

The service is a little frosty but we pretty well know what we'll be having and don't really go to chat with the waiters...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“bbq”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

the only place in perth to offer table top bbq. try it if you can

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajasthan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best Korean food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Arirang was my first experience with Korean food. Today it is my favorite cuisine!! The food, location and service is excellent. If you like Korean or have never had Korean and would like to try it out, Arirang is the place!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arirang Korean BBQ Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Arirang Korean BBQ Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arirang Korean BBQ Restaurant & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.