We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facilities, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Perth City YHA Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Perth City YHA Hostel to your Saves list
Perth City YHA Hostel
300 Wellington Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Facilities, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in two four bed dorms. Such a great location and all the facilities you could imagine. Everything was clean and well looked after, the staff were all friendly and nice. Would come again anytime.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    66
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
7
26
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with our 2 small children. We were put in the back rooms which over looked the very busy railway line. The windows aren't very soundproof so we didn't get much sleep. The next time we stayed the window latch was broken and the window had to remain open all the time so the noise was unbearable. We reported it to the staff who were unable to get it fixed and couldn't move us to a different room as they were full, however the hostel was very quiet so I'm guessing this wasn't true. It was very disappointing and some of the staff really let the place down because the actual facilities inside are very good, they should get better double glazing for the rooms unfortunate enough to over look the railway line.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean and good value, great location in the centre of the city for sightseers. My family had a great time here. Cleaners come through daily. Swiper system ensures you feel secure, especially being in the middle of town on sat nights etc when people are out drinking.

Only bad thing I can say is its hard to get a room at late notice and lots of miners leaving their grubby smelling shoes in the hallway wasnt nice. Lots of young people too leaving their stuff around but that is ok if you have your own room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I enjoyed the crisp x2 clean sheets. In a room with 4 other blokes. Good size lockers for security, swipe card entry, and I could park my car for $10 a day and not worry. Excellent amenities. The only down side was the disrespectful ones who did not clean up after themselves, leave dishes in tv room, abuse the toilets. I had someone help themselves to my eggs in the little store cubboard. The toilets had a check with times they were checked. Workers left there boots outside the dorm and that made the pace smell like dirty old socks. Great location to central Perth, trains and buses. For $35 a night, I thought it value for money and peace of mind. There will always be people who are disrespectful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I have stayed here a few times during my trip round australia, rooms are clean and you get a locker, theres a nice kitchen and a really good tv room and even a small gym. I would say this is not a very social hostel most people are working in perth or doing fly in fly out mining. Lots of british and irish staying here. Overall a pleaeant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The location is great, but what exactly are we paying 40 Dolalrs for? No breakfast and foam mattresses? The worst we have slept on for months. The kitchen was ok, the lady tried to keep up with the cleaning, but the majority of the guest didnt feel like cleaning up after themselves. Wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at YHA Perth for 2 nights, in a 6-bed male dorm. The room was smallish, with standard features like reading lamps, lockers (bring your own padlocks), and an AC in good working condition (very grateful of it because those days were really hot). Luckily there were no issues with the other people in my room, which added to the good impression I have on my stay here. The room and shared shower/toilet areas are generally clean, and the showers have good water pressure which I always consider important.

The facilities that are scattered about this old building are quite complete, even though the arrangements are rather chaotic in its small corridors and mezzanines. There is a reading room, TV lounge, ample kitchen space, couches for relaxing, even a small gym (which I haven't seen in many hostels).

Location-wise, it is both strategic and unfortunate. Strategic because of its proximity to the city centre and main station, plus it is easily accessible by car. Unfortunate, because it is right beside the rail tracks and there are no double-glazed windows. I must admit that the vibe I felt here was not so touristy or family-oriented like some other YHA's. A lot of the hostel's clients seem to be construction/mining workers, as evidenced by the shoe racks that are provided in front of male dorms for the hard-boots. But it's not a problem for me, and I wouldn't mind staying here again the next time I visit Perth.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perth City YHA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA Hostel

Address: 300 Wellington Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first AAA 4.5 star rated hostel! YHA WA has converted the St John Ambulance building at 300 Wellington Street, Perth into a modern 240 bed hostel providing low cost, superior quality accommodation in the heart of the city. Perth City YHA has significantly raised the standard of backpacker accommodation in Perth. Facilities include swimming pool, fully air-conditioned sleeping apartments, wireless internet available throughout the building, 50% of all rooms being private ensuite rooms, majority of dorm rooms being 4 bed only, car parking for up to 20 cars, this hostel was designed to meet the demands of travelers now and into the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Perth City YHA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perth City YHA Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.