We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and secure hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perth City YHA Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Perth City YHA Hostel to your Saves list
Perth City YHA Hostel
300 Wellington Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Perth CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“friendly staff and secure hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The only thing bad I can say about the rooms is that since the floor is carpeted... you'll notice the carpet corners are so white bec of dusts. the four beds in our room are all " deeply carved cushions". It must have been slept on for many many years. The 4 bed cushions in our room are all like that. I came from othe YHA in Oz but this us uniquely Perth experience! All the staffs were friendly and willing to assists. I will still say I'll recommend YHA Australia! It was my home!

Room Tip: make sure you check your bed cushions and no dusty carpet corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
7
29
74
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Nice hostel staff freindly and helpfull !! Not to be said about the bar!! people drinking at 6am still drunk from the night before !! Also people oplenly smoking in a 'non- smoking area' some smoking pot !! owner thought it was fun and normal!!!

Room Tip: As far from the so called 'Bar' !! full of drunk,rude people who don't even stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

we were at the hostel for 4 night. We got to the hostel at about 1:30-2:30am as our flight had been delayed and the reception man told us that we were lucky as he was just about to re boot the computer system and if we had been 2 minutes later we would of needed to wait another hour to check in. i thought that was cheeky of him to say that as i had infromed the hostel of of our flight times and what time we would get to the hostel.

The hostel was clean, very good location to centre and walking distance to get ferries. Tv rooms and a big kitchen, bar attached sell nice food at good prices staff were friendley and helpfull.
There is a gym which is small but ok could do with some up dating.
Bad points: at the back of the hostel is a railway line and the trains run all night. The back round noise from this is not good
No lights by beds.
noisey air condation.
not enough plug sockets.
Th epool area is small with about 8 sunbeds and the pool is unheated.
The day staff were helpfull ulike the man who checked us in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front of the hostel you might not hear the trains as much as we did
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times. The building is big and easy to get around to the huge kitchen and common areas. Pretty clean, decent staff. Right in the city. Nice pool.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the west side, the noise from the bar and traintracks echos up the side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was supposed to stay here for a week or two but I had a change in plans so I only stayed one night. The staff were really accommodating, welcoming, friendly. The atmosphere was great - the bar was smaller than I expected but it was cosy and it meant everyone chatted. I ate there and the food was fine. Staff again were great.
A very clean place - the theatre room is v cool. Didn't have time to try the gym etc unfortunately. Rooms were of good size, I stayed on the 3rd floor and didn't have any problems with the train noise. It is pricier than some other hostels but with a YHA card not too bad at all.

Room Tip: top floor is probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

very modern, huge hostel, clean rooms... huge kitchen which is very convenient. this hostel even has its on gym. but because of all that it doesnt feel very homely however it its just very convenient and modern and not the cheapest but kind of luxerious for a hostel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in a family room and found it good value for money, it was ensuite and towels and soap were provided, we also had a tv in the room. The children loved the swimming pool. The facilities were great and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perth City YHA Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perth City YHA Hostel

Address: 300 Wellington Street, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western Australia's first AAA 4.5 star rated hostel! YHA WA has converted the St John Ambulance building at 300 Wellington Street, Perth into a modern 240 bed hostel providing low cost, superior quality accommodation in the heart of the city. Perth City YHA has significantly raised the standard of backpacker accommodation in Perth. Facilities include swimming pool, fully air-conditioned sleeping apartments, wireless internet available throughout the building, 50% of all rooms being private ensuite rooms, majority of dorm rooms being 4 bed only, car parking for up to 20 cars, this hostel was designed to meet the demands of travelers now and into the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Perth City YHA Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perth City Yha Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perth City YHA Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.