We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room, fantastic staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   138 Barrack St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Barrack Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Perth
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge room, fantastic staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I checked in this week for 8 days for work. From my first contact with reception, every thing was fantastic. I received an unexpected upgrade, the staff on reception( ladies with names starting with K) were just wonderful, helpful and super friendly. A package I was waiting on was delivered to my room immediately.. The whole experience just wonderful! If I had to complain about anything.. I would have to have a small comment that the huge king size bed is slightly firmer than what I would prefer. Slightly!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    257
    98
    24
    20
See reviews for
155
152
30
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were in Perth for the Ashes and stayed 10 nights in this apartment. It was a huge area and ideal for the length of time we were staying. Although we only had breakfast in the room, the amenities were such that other meals could easily be cooked.

We were worried about previous reviews that had mentioned the sex club next door. However there is nothing to be concerned. It was very decreet and didn't bother us at all. The location of these apartments was close to city centre, train station and a short walk to the river, and the cricket ground. Perth just about closes down at 10 pm so there was no issue with noise when sleeping.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were kept clean. Would definitely stay here again if we were in Perth city centre.

Room Tip: Room at back away from road although very quiet wherever your room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Adina in a two bedroom apartment as for $409 per night for 4 people it was about the cheapest we could find in Perth for one night that was close to the city. The apartments themselves are quite spacious and were clean so no complaints there except would have preferred 2 bathrooms for the price. The staff at reception were lovely and very helpful, cannot fault their service.

Perth is ridiculously overpriced and really needs a review of tariffs. I understand that there is a captured market there but if they want to get more tourists from the East then they need to drop their prices a little. Don't mind paying $400 for the night but do expect higher standards for that amount of money, especially when we stayed in 5 star luxury in Melbourne the next night for more than half this tariff.

There are some nice restaurants around the area and we thought the hotel was well positioned.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Perth is expensive. This hotel is a good middle-grown. No fuss apartment hotel-room. The great staff does make the place a great hotel to stay at. It's also centrally located.
The pool pictures on the website are a bit deceptive… it's a small pool; really small! Having said that, it is great to have access to a pool in the scorching Perth summers!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After reading the previous reviews I wanted to add my comments in support to improving some aspects of this hotel. We recently stayed at this Adina while my husband attended to a work commitment,I enjoyed a few days in Perth.We flew in from Sydney on Labour Day Monday. We chose the property for its location. It is very central to places we enjoy on time off; gallery, museum,shopping, jetty and so forth. The area is a mixed bag of all sorts of places from adult shops to luxury shops. The hotel needs to improve its cleaning practices; the 1 bedroom unit is quite spacious but it is not well cleaned.Dust in shelves of TV unit, dried bits stuck to metal sink bowl,crockery needing washing before use, toilet brush holder filthy,hair in bath tub (even after daily cleaning and it was not ours),outdoor table setting needs cleaning, balcony rails need a wipe down, mirrors partially cleaned and so forth. Attention to details is needed.Most days we had to ring reception for clean towels and a bath mat because none were available after daily cleaning. Then we had to ring again.The pool provided a lovely break on the hot Perth days but is small but clean and you are deceived by clever photography work on the website thinking it would be bigger. It would be hard to improve the visuals here because of the small area and potential wind hazard. We found the staff generally pleasant and some cleaning staff tried very hard to help us,but some on reception did not show much initiative to be helpful to visitors to their city and State. One was even a little surprised when we asked for another swipe card as only 1 was provided. And why only 1 when a couple is checking in. Once again it is the details. The little cafe next to the hotel that is used for breakfast and room service is dreadful and woeful and I don't want to waste space discussing the exorbitant prices for less than nice food and coffee. The Adina has so much potential if it would review and improve its practices and assist and guide their staff to be aware of the details when servicing and dealing with customers. Location and spacious rooms tick the boxes but cleanliness, presentation and consistent customer service by all staff needs to be greatly improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Adina Apartment Hotel for my sisters 50th.
The Staff couldn't of been more accommodating.
We had the two bedroom apartment, really good sized bedrooms and good sized bathrooms.
The location, is fabulous. So close to everything in the city.
A big thankyou to Astrid at reception. ( thanks for everything you did, making a special stay for my sister)
Would highly recommend this hotel, and we would definitely stay in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We absolutely loved this one bedroomed apartment in Perth,it was so comfortable,very well set out,nice and big,sky sports/fox sports,CDplayer,lovely kitchenette and bathroom,bedroom also had a tv,washing machine and dryer,everything we needed for our week in Perth before going over the otherside of Oz......It had a massive balcony with lounger and table and chairs on,it didn't look over a beautiful view as its near the city,the bus station is joined to the Adina so it was very handy to get a bus and they have a free bus around a local zone that was good,also the Adina is attached to the rail station and little cafes and shops there so close and walking through a 5 minute walk you were right in amongst the main city centre and all the shops,its was so handy,we loved it there for everything..Have stayed in Perth before,but normally a hotel room,but this was great,you wont go wrong staying there for sure.... the aircon was brilliant.....Only down WIFI expensive,so went and stood by the Apple store or the café next door to it and got it free,just to keep in touch with family home in UK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza

Address: 138 Barrack St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive Barrack Plaza)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Perth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#12 Business Hotel in Perth
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Hotel Perth
Medina Executive Barrack Plaza Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Perth, Barrack Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.