We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Richardson Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Richardson Street, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 hotels in Perth
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I arranged my proposal to my fiance at The Richardson Hotel, the staff went above and beyond to make the night unique, special and rememberable, I would not hesitate recommending any aspect of what The Richardson Hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you Han15 for your feedback and congratulations on your engagement. I was glad to read that our team ensured a memorable night and we look forward to welcoming you back - possibly for your wedding night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    48
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
173
18
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I'm not one to normally write reviews but this hotel is just so much better than anywhere I've ever stayed in Australia that I just had to write something!

The rooms are great but what really sets it apart is the truly exceptional service and attention to detail.

It was also refreshing to see in-room services priced in such a way that you didn't feel like you were being robbed opening a coke! The minibar policy is retail +10%, parking os $20, high speed Internet is free as is the nespresso coffee machine.

Modern and big enough to have all the 5 star facilities but also small enough for personal service and wonderful hospitality.

Leaves the likes of The Westin, Hyatt and even The Langham in Melbourne for dead!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you Buh1 for your comments and I appreciate your thoughts on our value added items, in particular our private bar pricing and complimentary internet access. In addition, we provide Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoiP) which offers extremely competitive prices (e.g. $0.10 per minute to a UK landline), complimentary bottled water, daily newspaper and access to the Spa Club. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Working in the north-west, we wanted a touch of luxury on a recent trip to Perth. For 2 nights, we were made to feel like the 'rich & famous' with service and facilities that made Burswood seem like a Travelodge. Friendly yet utterly professional, the staff at the The Richardson left no stone unturned in ensuring our stay was memorable. Large, well appointed rooms, luxurious spa and the wonderful Opus restaurant capped off the experience. A must for those who want to be treated with that personal touch.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you WestOzRossco for your feedback and I was glad to read that you were made to feel special. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in need of a little pampering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Over several recent visits, I have very much appreciated the professionalism and warmth of The Richardson's excellent staff. The quality of the food in their in-house restaurant, Opus, has in my judgement, no equal in Western Australia ……. the Marron appetiser is superb. And you can order the food on the Opus menu for your room.

I have often arrived at an ungodly hour in the night but, even so, check-in is always very smooth, front office staff are very friendly and reliable; hassle-free. Largest, most comfortable room I have had in Perth.

I have been travelling to Perth on business for several years now - staying in several hotels in the city. The Richardson has no equal in terms of the calibre of its staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you 28Jon for your comments and we very much appreciate your feedback. We frequently welcome senior executives who call The Richardson home whilst in Perth. Our daily focus is on delivering a consistently high level of personal service - whether it be the arrival, spa, housekeeping or dining experience. It is reassuring to hear that we are achieving this and your feedback fuels the motivation to continue. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The hotel is modern and comfortable in style, with good sized rooms. The buffet breakfasts are excellent, as is the room service menu. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The hotel is situated in a quiet area outside the city but near Kings Park and the free Cat bus stop.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you JandJ42 for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The service of staff was exceptional. Cocktail Bar was intimate and had excellent service. We have eaten in many top restaurants all over the world but this is the first restaurant that cooked food to perfection without you having to add seasoning. We commend the chef and his team, it was brilliant. Breakfast was fantastic, no baymaries!!!!! freshly cooked from the kitchen.........well done.

Staff were very obliging and we will return!!!

Room Tip: Street room was quiet, clean and comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you Cooper004 for your comments, in particular regarding the team at Opus and the kitchen brigade - we are flattered by your glowing report! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband and I planned this trip to Perth as we had a wedding to attend. We chose The Richardson because of the reviews on this site - I am also half way through our first pregnancy and want to make the most of getaways while we can before the baby comes along.

Leading up to our stay my husband had been very ill following a virus caught in Italy and our trip was very much in doubt. As it turned out we were able to get on the plane and come across from SA to WA however our plane had a fire or smoke issue in the galley and was returned to Adelaide. Our next flight was cancelled and finally that evening our 3rd ticketed flight for the day had us arrive to Perth. (Ironically our seats had been upgraded as I was on a flight from HKG - SYD which had an engine blow up and had the ensuing emergency landing and inconvenience etc)

Upon our eventful arrival we were greeted by Roma & Adam who impressed us greatly by being aware of our plane issues and probable awareness of our being frazzled. It was nice that they cared to keep touch with their guests' arrival. The professionalism shown at our check in was something we'd only experienced as good at the Bellagio. In fact this was the best check in experience we'd ever had. A quality check in cannot be under-rated and it was superb here; we were even given a glass of water when we walked in the door. I found Adam to be very personable and we enjoyed seeing him during our stay. We genuinely felt that nothing was too much trouble for the lovely team of people.

There is a room next to reception which has a number of couches and magazines and a drink station with yummy little biscuits. I absolutely LOVED this room and this is another special touch the hotel offers, of which i've not actually seen done anywhere this good.

Due to my husband being unwell he was quite tired due to the delays when we arrived so we decided to cancel our dinner plans and have room service. Our room was upgraded which was a real treat something else I know Adam enabled for us. When we arrived to our room we found a delicious hotel-made juice and a hand written letter from the hotel manager. These are lovely touches not always offered, in fact the Park Hyatt in Sydney which charges more a night offers the card but not the complimentary juice. Also, we note that some beautiful music was being played in our room for our arrival...another lovely touch.

We decided to have a swim before dinner to shake of our bad luck on the flight and settle into our lovely hotel. The pool was at a perfect temperature for a few laps. Again, Adam came to our aid with extra towels.

We quite liked that the hotel offers a pillow menu, along with warm fluffy bathrobes and slippers. My husband particularly enjoyed the night-time chocolate truffle on the turn-down service. Hotel toiletries were of a good quality also. I will also add here that the rooms (and entire hotel) were particularly clean and tidy. The cleanliness was of particular note as I deliberately left a few things out of place and a couple finger prints on stainless steel to see if they would be picked up - yep! no trick was missed; the housekeeping were incredibly thorough which makes me feel good knowing the room we walked into on our first day was not only tidy and well presented; but CLEAN also.

In having a look around our room there were books to read and a lovely big kitchen. The minibar and food items far exceed what you'd normally expect to find at a 5 star hotel - in the freezer there was icecream along with meals you could heat. The fridge was equally well stocked too.

I loved that the lovely big windows had lovely big black-out drapes to assist with the 2.5 hr time difference. Further to this, the night light in the bathroom was a great idea; particularly with a pregnant lady staying at the hotel!

I'd be really stretching to find something negative to say about this hotel but here goes. The only thing they don't have is valet parking but that's not a real issue with plenty of on-street parking right out the front. We opted for a full cooked breakfast one morning in their really beautiful atrium-style room for breakfast. There was no wanting for choice here - although my order was misunderstood which could have easily been my fault for not being clear. Despite this very minor issue, the lovely waitress rectified the problem quickly and to top if off the restaurant manager came to check I was happy! Well, there's nothing to not be happy about when even the smallest of issues are handled and rectified as wonderful as this. It's nice to know that this is a hotel which goes to great lengths to ensure guest happiness.

We've stayed at many fine hotels all over the globe and I think some can confuse professionalism with "stuffiness". The Richardson Hotel, whilst incredibly professional with its extroadinary levels of high quality service, is not stuffy or pretentious. The people are lovely and give the establishment a warmth not found in peer hotels. I honestly believe that staff this good must have an exceptional manager to trust them to make decisious on the spot which immediately benefit the mindset and comfort of the guest. Staff were happy and free to oblige and not stifled by rules or unhappy in their roles. This has got to be a hotel with a great people-pleasing philosphy and happy people running the show at the coal-face. This kind of service starts at the very top and filters down. It's obvious that the right people are working in this hotel as well as they truly understood that we were on a break and wanted to relax and enjoy ourselves and everyone at The Richardson ensured we did. Upon our return home we have also received a follow up communication from the Hotel Manager which again was a lovely touch.

Near the hotel is Epic Espresso (brilliant coffee) and The Food Store which serves lovely big breakfasts' and lunches as well as gluten free food also. Villa D'Este is an equally short walk from the hotel.

Unfortunately time did not allow for me to experience a session in the hotel Spa... A regret I will rectify on our next trip!

We would definitely stay here exclusively on our future trips to Perth.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you Julesandheath for your comprehensive feedback. I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the attention to detail and overall levels of service and I will share your thoughts with the team. Wishing you all the best for your forthcoming addition to the family and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome back for another mini-break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Address: 32 Richardson Street, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#1 Spa Hotel in Perth
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is a striking new boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. Taking a holistic approach, the architect has created a structure that is grand and outstanding yet conservative and pragmatic. The Richardson's superb facilities, state-of-the-art technology and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Suites catering for disabled persons and with wheelchair accessibility are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
The Richardson Hotel Perth
Richardson Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richardson Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.