We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, private hotel in a quite area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Richardson Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Richardson Street, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, private hotel in a quite area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed here with my husband for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. What a lovely hotel. We booked the special 2 day spring package for $1090, which was excellent value especially since we got upgraded to a suite. A 6 course disgustation dinner was included along with an American breakfast for 2 mornings. if we did not do this on a package deal, it would have cost $1600. Had a great time. The staff are very friendly and very polite. Dinner at the Opus Restaurant was an experience. It is high class, so very expensive. As it was our anniversary, they bought out a small cake with a couple of candles. Nice touch. If you want privacy, this is the hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you AndreaBW123 for your comments and congratulations once again on your anniversary. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly take the time to share them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    52
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
208
23
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This hotel is very satisfying and very cosy. When celebrities come to perth they always stay here. except for robbie williams who stayed at the hyatt. but beyonce gwen stefani rihanna and many more stayed at this hotel. this hotel is very very clean and tidy and neat. the service is absolutely second to none. the location could be better as this hotel did not have a great view. the rooms were nice and spacious and the sleeping material was simply stunning and could make you sleep even if your not tired. the breakfeast selection is not that wide though, in opus.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Thank you Maldives10over for your comments and I was delighted to read that, overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. As we only have 74 rooms, the buffet breakfast is proportionate to the size of hotel and would not compare to a 400 bedroom property. Where I feel we do differ is the fact that the cooked breakfast is made to order rather than having hot stations where food sits and losses its freshness. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I've stayed in lovely hotels which have appeared on the Tablet Hotels Website.

It astounds me how this hotel could hold itself out as such.

At best, it is a 4 star apartment hotel with third rate furnishings.

The staff are amateurs. Poorly dressed in ill-fitting cheap suits.

The Richardson misrepresents itself as a 5 star boutique hotel.

Bring on The Hotel Inspector.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for your review and I have already responded to your husband’s review (David 60005 – “pretentious”). I am disappointed that our dress code has caused so much offence, particularly since this is not your first stay with us. We certainly had no intention of insulting you or your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chieri, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Richardson Hotel was a great experience for several reasons. After a very long journey from Italy, it was really nice to meet very kind and smiling staff at the reception. The room we stayed in was much more than a room, a big apartment, with all sorts of comforts, very clean and everything was brand new! We found a beautiful card written by the hotel manager next to a refreshing blueberry and mint tea with a cute biscuit with our daughter's name written on. We had a great view from of Perth from our balcony, the kitchen corner was full of all sorts of crisps and nuts and wine and Nespresso coffee machine. The sofas and armchairs were very comfortable and the tv and dvd player were brand new. There was a series of very beautiful and high standard magazines on the sitting room table. The two bedrooms had very comfortable beds and pillows. The two bathrooms also had all sorts of comforts you can think of. Sheets, towels, covers, slippers, all perfect!!! The Spa had a wonderful relaxed atmosphere... Breakfast and the restaurant were also a very high level. We really felt more than welcome all the time, and everybody was so nice to us. We miss the Richardson and its staff. We are looking forward to going back there and we would certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you Babel70 and I was glad to read that we made you feel at home. Thank you also for the detailed review - you have highlighted so many of our points of difference! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very well run hotel; competent and friendly staff; located in quiet area (mainly offices), about 15 minutes drive to downtown Perth

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you Bernd160459 for your comments and I was glad to read that you found our staff to be competent and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The hotel is located in an office area. Our room had no view and looked straight into a neighbouring office. There was no provacy, at all

After spending $200 on a bottle of wine at lunch at the Opus restaurant, I went into the restaurant to buy a $220 champagne in the evening. I was rudely advised that there was a dress standard and I was not allowed to stay (My wife had a 2k Prada dress on).

It was not welcoming and staff were very impolite.

We checked out

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear David60008, Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at The Richardson last Friday evening. I make no apology for the dress code at our Opus Restaurant, where a minimum of smart casual is required after 5.30pm and is clearly communicated on our website, prior to arrival and on checkin. As you have pointed out, your wife was certainly very well dressed, however it was your attire that caused the restaurant staff to refuse admission - shorts are not acceptable in the main dining room for dinner. I do apologize if any of our staff were impolite or offended you as this was not the intention. We did offer to serve you drinks in our Residents Lounge or the Conservatory, both of which I understand was not acceptable and I am sorry if this was perceived as not welcoming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I could not fault our wedding night spent at this lovely boutique hotel. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the facilities in the room were fantastic and the staff were very knowledgable, refined and highly professional. The degustation meal at Opus was exquisite as was the lovely breakfast. A short stroll to the picturesue Kings Park was an added bonus. Highly recommended. Loved the sitting room near the foyer where you could read the paper, watch TV, have a coffee or just peruse the wall of photo's showing all the famous stars who had stayed there previously. Tasteful and Classy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewFarnfield, General Manager at The Richardson Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you Rachel255103 for your comments and congratulations once again on your recent wedding. Your positive feedback is much appreciated and I will certainly take the time to share your thoughts with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Richardson Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richardson Hotel & Spa

Address: 32 Richardson Street, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perth
#1 Spa Hotel in Perth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#2 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Richardson Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richardson is a striking new boutique hotel, designed by renowned London architect Sir Terry Farrell. Taking a holistic approach, the architect has created a structure that is grand and outstanding yet conservative and pragmatic. The Richardson's superb facilities, state-of-the-art technology and attentive staff provide all the luxuries one would expect of a hotel that prides itself on making each visit an enjoyable and memorable experience. The Richardson has a policy of no smoking within the hotel facilities. Suites catering for disabled persons and with wheelchair accessibility are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Richardson Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richardson Hotel And Spa
The Richardson Hotel Perth
Richardson Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richardson Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.