We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alderney on Hay to your Saves list
Alderney on Hay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Karratha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

We were given keys on check in after 2pm and on arriving at our room housekeeping were still in there. We were given another room. Hot water would only last one short shower and in the middle of winter this was frustrating. The reception staff were rude and very unwelcome more worried about what they look like than helping their customers. The bed in the main room consisted of two single bed mattresses on the queen base. We letf with bad backs and bad moods. For a four star complex this was most inappropiate. Would not recommend Alderney On Hay to anyone and would definately not stay their again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    30
    28
    51
See reviews for
70
16
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010 via mobile

What a horrid place. So dirty and rooms are furnished with broken furnishings. Stained carpets in hallways, chipped and scuffed walls in rooms, mould in shower, old towels, horrid beds. 4 star - never. Staff are rude and basically offer zero service. My husband was confronted by two very drunk youths in the lift and then in the carpark. This is not the place to stay. Executive it us not.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alderneyPerth, Front Office Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
To Guest,

It is disapointing to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our property. Could you please contact us at the property so that we can address the issues that you have raised in your review. Please contact the property during business hours.
We look forward to resolving these issues with you to ensure that none of these issues happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

I,ve stayed at this hotel aparts twice this year and i must admit its getting better the pools improved and refubd and the rooms are better too although i do agree 1 loo roll just aint enough but this time we brung our own, this apartments are ideal if you just need a base, if your looking for flash stay at the burswood or the holiday Inn city centre cos ive been to both and they are lovely esp the holiday inn hay st gr8 rooms there, but for a cheap family stay the aldereney is gr8 the staff are not ignorant if you ask for their help ive found they try to be helpful although we,v been in a lucky position of not requiring it.
we will def stay at the alderney again i like parking the car without paying for the privaledge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alderneyPerth, Front Office Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
To Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor in regards to our property. The property has gone through small changes at the end of 2009 with the front desk staff and is constantly looking at ways to improve service in Reception and Housekeeping.
We would once again like to thank you for your feedback and we will welcome you back at the property upon your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

cheap and nasty hotel, night manager was rude, and continually complained about noise which was not overly loud for 9pm. Watching us from other balconies and made us feel very uncomfortable. Considering our ages, 39, 42, 50 years old, not exactly rowdy teenagers. More like a prison camp than a holiday spot, left one night early.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alderneyPerth, Front Office Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, February 24, 2010
This guest was asked to leave the property due to unacceptable behaviour. This guest did not stay the last night of their stay due to the behaviour they displayed towards our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.a
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We are a family of five we booked a superior room which had apparently been refurbished!!! It was disgusting because we arrived after reception hours there was no one we could complain to. There was hair all through the bathroom, the walls were filthy and there were cigarette burns all through the carpet, I'm sure that the sheets had not been changed they were disgusting we had to wash them before we put them back on the bed!!!! In the morning after my husband spoke to reception we were moved to another room which was much smaller but at least it was clean!! The car parking area and lift are very scary with some very strange people lurking around there. We were woken by drunken people at 3 in the morning very very poor!!!!! DON T STAY HERE

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

I recently traveled to Perth with my partner and my two children, 8 and 3. We needed a two bedroom apartment close to the city and the Alderney on Hay fitted the requirements and budget. We requested and received a refuribished room.

I'll start with the positives. The room was fantastic and fitted our needs perfectly. Two bedrooms, great kitchen facilities and good sized living room were great. It was clean, and well stocked with cooking utensils. The pool was pretty good and enjoyed by the kids. The location was OK, a little bit further from the main CBD area than we would have liked but for the price that wasn't a huge issue.

Now the negatives. The staff were appaling. The word 'rude' doesn't even sum them up. We had problems and delays at check-in, during our stay, and check out. They would not do anything more than they had to and weren't at all happy to assist with any additional assistance we required. No broadband internet for an apartment that advertises itself as a business facility seemed odd as well.

If you require a two bedroom apartment close to the city then I'd reccomend the Alderney on Hay. Just don't expect a friendly face on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were concerned after reading some of the reviews about the Alderney on Hay - they were completely unsubstantiated. The hotel was well organised and the staff helpful. The rooms were clean, extremely spacious and well equipped - perfect for those travelling with a young family. A short walk from bus stops into the centre of town, I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting a base from which to explore Perth.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderney on Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.