We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alderney on Hay to your Saves list
Alderney on Hay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Collie, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here me and my friend. I had arrived after office hours and the front lobby was locked at 8pm! parked car in hotel parking. Turns out you are only allowed to have 1 car per room even though they are 2 bedroom apartments. which was a innocent mistake turned into a $150 to get a wheel clamp off! because they thought i wasn't staying there!! and the hotel reception was not helpful at all no one had said you can pay $15 to get 2 car parks, which we would have done if we were told.

Another thing if your going out of the hotel after 7pm you have to exit and enter via the carpark entry and remember to take a 6 pin security code with you. which we didnt even think of! (instead of having a room key swipe system on the front door). Which ended up having to call the manager for the pin to get back in the hotel at 2am after trying the generic reception phone number

Worst stay of my life at a hotel and I have stayed at quite a few!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Having looked into your case from a complaint made by you and your mother (whom did not stay with us and who has also posted a review on TripAdvisor) we have found a few points.

On our terms and conditions it states that a car parking voucher must be displayed at all times whilst parked in the car park, there are also signs in which state this throughout the car park. It also would have been advised to the person whom checked in. The room checked in at reception at 6pm and took the car parking permit for the room. They were advised all cars parked in the car park require this to be displayed at all times.

For security and safety of all guests we lock the front doors at 7.30pm nightly. We notify all guests of this upon check in and are happy issue as many code sheets as the guest requests. This is a temporary measure until we complete the property upgrade we are going through at present. We are more than happy to give out the code to registered guests through our after hours line. This phone number is posted on the front door, back door, lobby door and next to the after hours lockbox.

Due to your parking illegally within our car park we had guests whom were doing the right thing whom were almost forced to park elsewhere.

Kind Regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    30
    28
    51
See reviews for
70
16
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't stay here, $190 for a room and $150 taken out of your bond if your apparently being too loud. No warning. Definite scam, plus receptionist was rude, not friendly or welcoming.

SCAMMMMMMM for sure

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

$190 for a one night stay in a Two-Bedroom Apartment in Inner-City Perth on a Saturday is well below the city average with many other properties charging almost double this. Our property caters primarily to corporate guests and families. We do not intend to cater to people wishing to have a party within the apartments. It is for this reason we have a strict terms and conditions policy, this was signed on arrival by the person whom checked in. We recieved multiple complaints regarding noise from your apartment. We are in no way a 'scam', we merely take every possible step to ensure the comfort and happiness of the guests whom do the right thing.

Kind Regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here after a night out on the town following a work Christmas party at the end of last month, booked out a room just for the night and found it to be a nice quiet and cozy room, great location on one of the main streets of Perth, walking distance to pretty much anything and a very inexpensive taxi ride from Northbridge

as the title says
10/10 would stay again

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us!
I am delighted to hear that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable. We hope to see you many times in the future and wish you a Merry Christmas!

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We pre-booked this unit for a 7 night stay, which was guaranteed to have suitable showers and toilet facilities for a disabled person, not just the odd handrail for Granny who is a "little frail", the toilet was adequate but the shower was a disgrace, meaning I had to carry my wife into the shower each night. the booking instructions from the agent here in Mackay were "WHEELCHAIR ROOM REQUIRED ** MUST HAVE WHEEL IN SHOWER, NO LIP ON SHOWER , BARS IN SHOWER" , I went to reception and asked for a plastic chair to use in the shower and was told there were none available. I managed to find an old plastic chair near the swimming pool which I took up and put in the shower for my wife to sit on. Before leaving Mackay the travel agent and I both phoned the apartments and inquired about the disabled facilities and if someone could take a photo of them and email them to me. I was told that wasn't possible but was assured that the bathroom/toilets would be suitable. On the positive side, the location of the hotel and free parking, kitchen and laundry were good. SO OBVIOUSLY NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukinbudin, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They don't call it a 3 star for no reason. In fact my rating would give them 1.5 stars. Lets start with the 'asking for a non-smoking' apartment only to find that when you walk in it smells like stale cigarettes. (Probably absorbed into the 'non washable' couch). Then you notice the ashtray sitting on the air-conditioning unit on the outside balcony. Make sure you take your own teatowel the one we were left with smelt revolting and looked like it had just mopped a floor! Bring your own. In fact ensure you wash and dry all cutlery and crockery before you eat!!! (1 start). The pool area (when it is available) is small, dank and claustrophobic. Blink and you will miss the gym. Only strictly 1 car parking (even though you have paid for a 6 sleeping apartment). Clamping will set you back $150, as will a security guard to knock on your door and ask you to turn your music down.($150 automatic rip off fee). Now lets talk sleeping. The very small queen bed was ok, but the pullout bed from the smelly couch was worse. You will be sleeping on springs so bring your own air bed!!. The singles are great it you an8year old but don't expect to roll over if you are an adult. After all that make sure you sweep, mop and scrub everything or these thieves will charge you for cleaning too. Sorry but there are much better for value and cleaner places to stay in Perth....like across the road!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lisa G,

As per our conversation, I am unsure how you can review our property as you did not stay here. You called regarding your daughter whom has since also posted a review. When I refused to wilt to the threats you made regarding the property and reporting us to multiple news outlets and current affairs television programmes. All our apartments are non smoking apartments and as you never stayed with our property we find it hard to believe you know what our couches are like.

All tea towels are washed and replaced after every guest.

During the entirety of your daughters stay the pool area was closed due to renovations and your apartment never signed out a gym key. So once again, I must point out that this again is a false claim.

As per the terms and conditions signed by all guests when checking in to the apartment all cars parked in the car park must display a parking permit. The car park is run in accordance with the laws set out by the city of Perth and the monitoring of the car park is contracted out by Strata, upon check in we give guests their parking voucher and tell all guests that this must be clearly displayed on the cars dashboard. As your daughter snuck the car in and did not register it with reception so she could obtain a permit. We had no knowledge of who the car belonged to and as a result of the illegal parking we were unable to properly cater for guests arriving late whom required car bays that were taken by people parking illegally.

All bedding used at our property are used as standard by most hotels in Australia and given you did not actually stay with us we doubt you are giving a truthful review as to the standards of the accommodation. As for sweeping and mopping the apartment after use, we do not make any guest do this, as per the conditions of entry signed on arrival we ask that excess rubbish is removed from the apartment.

As a property that aims to cater to corporate guests and families we do not wish to have people trying to have a party in a room. This causes other guests to have their stay ruined by the inconsiderate nature of the minority. We have a strict terms and conditions policy in order to deter people from using the apartments for a party. Guests like this ruin the stay of many other guests and we would prefer that they seek accommodation elsewhere.

We kindly request that your daughter and friends do not book again.

Kind Regards,

Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic place to stay, will definitely be popping in again. The staff were so helpful and friendly; made our stay there really enjoyable.
The room was tidy and very comfortable. The location was handy as well, right in the city, close to all the bars, restaurants and shopping.
Given how affordable the room was, we were surprised and pleased with the excellent room and service here, definitely worth your money. Wouldn't look anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again! We aim to offer the best value apartment accommodation in Perth and we are glad we lived up to this for you.

Please feel free to like us on Facebook for exclusive deals and offers!

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here recently with a friend as it was near a concert we were attending and had a great experience. Reception staff were polite and helpful, rooms were clean and the price was reasonable. We had the standard room and it was spacious and nicely furnished. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Katevictoria14 for taking the time to review your stay with us!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Please feel free to like us on Facebook for exclusive deals and offers.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderney on Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.