We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alderney on Hay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alderney on Hay to your Saves list
Alderney on Hay
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“spacious apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

the apartments are huge and its great for families. Only thing that needs to be worked on is the extremely dirty sofa and the carpets. Overall still a pleasant experience. Also note that although its on hay street, its on the opposite end of hay street where all the action is at. Takes about 20-25mins to walk to the other end.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    34
    32
    54
See reviews for
76
17
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This apartment is in a good location but the decor is worn. In my room, the soap and shampoo was not filled and had to have only a rinse in the shower.

Also to get into the parking area or after hours entry you have to remember two separate code numbers. Why they don't have electronic entry I don't know. In all the stay was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

street noise people shouting and doors slamming all night ,i think because 2 bedroom apartments lots of backpackers can afford,never again,police were called and i have never done that before.should have beem alerted when booking in everyone was in early 20s and backpackers and they hand you a full page on rules ???? no normal hotel does that.

Room Tip: choose another hotel unless you are in your early 20,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was quite skeptical initially when I was booked into this hotel. The reviews have not been exactly flattening. However, it was a pleasant surprise once I got into the apartment. It is generally clean and well maintained. I am most impressed with the many electrical appliances available. Perhaps it was the period in which I travelled but I did not experience the so-called loud and excessive noise from the Backpackers' Inn nor from the main road.

The stay would have been complete if there was Fox Channel on TV. The receptionist could have been friendlier and more approachable. The bed is not the most comfortable too.

Other than that, no other complaints. I will definitely consider staying here again if I come to Perth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed quiet a few times in the past few years, unfortunately the upkeep is definitely not up to Par. This visit was for 4 days, come Saturday, Sunday the drains started smelling which wafted through the rest of the apartment. The furniture is dated and needs a good clean, the mattresses were lumpy and we were charged $29 a night just for two singles pushed together!!!. Don't ever ask for extra towels refusal may offend.
We had booked 6 rooms and they all were very old and unkept, even mould was growing in the corners. My daughters room which was supposed to be a deluxe had a lovely drawing on the sliding door done by the previous tenants shame it was "R" rated.
I guess you get what you pay for will be looking for a little more upmarket next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had to book two appartments for a junior sporting team, and the price at the Alderney on Hay was just right.
I read a lot of the reviews here, and happened upon only one positive one...so I was a bit worried.
I personally spoke to the hotel (on a Sunday!!) and let them know what I needed, a nice clean place for me to take other people's children. The staff member suggested thei delux appartments.
We got Room 9 on Floor 1, and Room 16 on Floor 2.
The appartments were clean, with two good sized bedrooms, three way bathroom from the main bedroom, well equipped kitchen, and separate laundry and toilet.
Main bedroom - double bed and desk and chair. Built in wardrobe with extra bedding, and access to the bathroom.
Second bedroom - two single beds. Built in wardrobe and access to balcony.
Lounge area - modular lounge which incorporates a sofa bed. Perfect for one, or for kids, though I expect it may not have been comfy for two adults. Sliding door access to the baclony, with a view - nice to be able to go outside, though the view isn't much to write about. Flatscreen digital TV with remote. Coffee table, with coasters.
Dining area - part of the carpeted area, next to the kitchen. Wooden table with six chairs, table mats.
Kitchen - Fridge, oven, hotplate, kettle (free tea and coffee etc.) toaster etc and enough crockery and cutlery for 6.
Laundry - washer, dryer, basin and cupboards which contain vacuum cleaner, mops broom etc. With a sporting group the washer and dryer were used every night. Just remember to clean the dryer filter after each load for best drying results.
Noise - Not noisy at all (apart from the kids we had with us!!) the only noise I heard was one emergency vehicle siren a long way away. We stayed two Saturday nights and we were not disturbed at all by the backpacker lodge next door..
Gym and Pool - Mezanine floor has heated indoor pool and spa (and shower) and separate gym - treadmill, weights, ball, rowing machine, exercise bikes etc.

Curtains did a great job of keeping out the light, and as mentioned we had no issues with noise.Our room was right next door to the carpark and backpacker lodge, so no issues with sound proofing in room 16 (floor 2).

The units aren't serviced, and I had to ask where to put my rubbish, but that was fine - it's near the carpark entrance on the left of (as you look at reception. The reception people and cleaners were very helpful and friendly.

Reception hours are limited, but well signposted. Guests are given an afterhours access code on arrival, and each room is automatically provided with 2 keys.

Parking - parking permit provided on check-in. However our vehicle was too high to go into the underground parking. This was not an issue for us because the on-street parking was free before eight and after six, which suited us ok. We had no issues with security on the street.

Split system aircons. Only one remote.

I think you need to be specific about your requirements, and book early. Had we known we could have swapped out our double bed for two singles, but we left it too late.

We made good use of the convenience store up the street - behind the Kebab shop, which opens at 6.30am everymorning and closes late. Further up the street there is an IGA, and further still there is McDonald's etc.

Getting to the hotel on the first day prooved tricky, but the rain and the GPS didn't mix. However it's only about 25 minutes from the airport.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room. We stayed in Room 9, floor 1 and Room 16, floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stay here around 5 or 6 times a year. It is a very average property but for me it is in a very convenient location in East Perth. It can be a bit noisy if you are unlucky and get a lower level road side room. While the rooms are tidy they can seem a little unclean and he beds are average at best although I have slept in worse.
As a frequent visitor I too find the front desk staff unfriendly and there is never any acknowledgement that you are a return guest or that they are appreciative of the fact.
The best feature of the Hotel is that fact that it is a short walk to one of my favourite restaurants Cafe Italia on Hay Street

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room that isn't facing the road not that they actually listen to requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderney on Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderney on Hay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.