We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price for Perth!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountway Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountway Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Mountway Holiday Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Central Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great location and price for Perth!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my parents, as we were attending my university graduation. I booked a room for three people, and we got a room with a double bed and two singles, which was great.

The location is fantastic. It's actually located right near a bus stop for a bus that takes you all the way to the airport for only $4.20 - much better than paying $40 for a cab or $15 per person for a shuttle! Also a quick walk over the bridge to get to the CBD, and all city buses are free as well which makes getting to different areas super easy. Third best thing about the location is that it's just down the hill from Kings Park - definitely worth a visit to while in Perth.

The rooms are fairly outdated, however the kitchens were super nice. The bathroom was okay - shower dripped a little, but no big deal, and although it seemed old, it was clean. There is no hair dryer however (first apartment I have stayed in that didn't provide a hair dryer) so keep that in mind if you do need to use one during your stay. Airconditioning and Foxtel channels were also great to have!

Staff were great, particularly Polly. She was super helpful, gave us plenty of information about Perth, good places to visit and where to eat.

Overall, I did enjoy my stay at Mountway. I don't know if I would stay again, based on wanting to try new places when I travel, but good for an emergency or a short or solo stay (three in the room was alright but I wouldn't stay there with four people, it'd be too crowded as the rooms are not large).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I can see you went out of your way to write an accurate review and it's very much appreciated. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    81
    52
    27
    40
See reviews for
48
46
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My daughter and I drove down from the country to stay overnight and attend a concert. To say the place is run down would be an understatement. The room had half the vertical blinds missing, stains all over the musky carpet, taps dripping constantly, tiles missing in the bathroom, the toilet was a disaster. The office staff were friendly enough and helpful but seriously, the only plus for this poor run down establishment is the location.

Room Tip: Look for somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Unfortunately there are people out there that do not understand the market, and we understand that. The best that Perth has to offer does not exist on concert nights for $140.00.Take a look at availability for 19 February 2014, there is a huge concert at the Arena, which is a 7 minute walk from Mountway. You might notice the hotel opposite has a tariff of almost $700.00 for that night and when no concert, about $140.00. So we understand your rage. Your comments regarding the toilet bowl are not believable unless you had just had some kind of difficulty. What we don’t understand is why we are fully booked most of the time. Unless we are not charging enough in today’s market. Thank you for commenting on our friendly staff and exceptional location, and for giving me the opportunity to address your issue. Kind regards, John Bergin GM at Mountway since January 2002.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We arrived in the night in Perth and took a car (tip - in the city cars can be several times less expensive than in the airport) - then went through top booking.com places under 100$. Some of them was just nightmare terrible - warning! Polly at the reception was really cheerful, flexible and thinking - you just have a feeling that everything will be good here while discussing the place - we took it for 1 day but then extended for 10 more. Room was not really sharp but great location (Polly will explain everything nicely) and parking just working. Kitchen is a good option in Perth - restaurants are rather expensive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Polly is highly experience in all facets of the Mountway operation and she is very highly regarded by all. A true gem. Shinto James is another highly regarded employee who excels in guest services and online marketing so you will find the Mountway website, which has all the 'good oil'. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Don't go here. Terrible place. Bathroom and kitchenette filthy. Bathroom fan broken. Tiles missing. Stains in bath and sink. Very tired, desperately requiring a refurb.Booked for a week but got out as soon as we possibly could!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
For some reason most people have favourable comments, arriving from the UK after a long flight, we understand, you might not have noticed anything plausible under the jet-lag. Most reasonable and discerning people will come and see for themselves. On a positive note it reminds us that one man’s pleasure is another man’s poison, and so your comments are appreciated. We will continue to make positive improvements to the property, the latest being the free Foxtel, free Wi-fi, and refurbished kitchens. Kind regards, John Bergin , General Manager since 2002, Mob: 0403008145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

a great place to stay whether your short-term or long term as we where. friendly reception staff who will try to help you in any way they can, to great ground keepers who keep the place looking very clean and respectable. our room was always cleaned very well by the house keeping and always on time they probably actually cleaned more than they were asked too seen as there were 3 lads living in each apartment. but this is probably down to great management of the apartments. we will defiantly be recommending this to our friends and will be staying here again in the future....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Yes our 'all rounder' Peter Cunniffe keeps a good eye on the grounds and is very helpful to assist in the parking of guest cars. JB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Dear All,

I like to update my review for Mountway Holiday Apartments. In addition to my previous comments (see the review made on 21 June 2013) I'd like to point out the additional features that are now available:

1) Digital TV - Free FOXTEL

This is great as it allows me to catch up on the NFL. There is also a range of about 30 channels to choose from to suit everyone: from 24 hour news on the ABC, to international sport, and cartoons. Don't you just love breakfast with cartoons?!

2) Internet Access

Now you can connect to the Internet from the privacy of your own room to book tickets, check your email and stay connected. In addition, if you don't have your own computer, there is a common computer in the front office on the ground floor that will allow you to access the Internet, check your mail, and check your flight status, etc. Very useful!

3) Remodelled Kitchens

The kitchens have been remodelled with a fresh simplistic yet sharp appearance that's easier to clean and pleasing to look at. It makes preparing my breakfast even more pleasant than before. The toaster allows me to make hot crumpets and toast, and the microwave oven can be used for heating packed dinners or dessert, e.g. apple pie (with ice cream of course). The fridge and freezer make storing groceries easy and allows the cost-conscious traveller another mechanism to get great value for money.

My summer stay at the Mountway was really nice and next time I'll stay longer: 10 nights just isn't enough. I'm always sad to leave and am grateful for such a wonderful and simple form of accommodation. It just makes life cost-effective, easier and simpler: exactly what I want on a holiday.

Again, the location is perfect: 10 mins walk to the trains, 5 mins to the bus stop and 5 mins to the top of Kings Park - what a view at night!

Management and support staff are always friendly and considerate.

I hope this update helps you in making a decision.
:)
Bud.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors may minimize the noise from the roads below, and allows for a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We wanted a 2 bed room apartment for 4 adults and got 1 queen bed & 2 singles beds in 1 room with all diffence coloured bed covers. The room was very cramped, carpet very old, verticals missing. The bath room was very OLD broked tiles, mould in the bath/shower. The toilet bowel had been replaced but tank was very OLD. I would rate this motel 1 as it was walking distance the city.

Room Tip: The photos on the site are not what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountway Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.