We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location With Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountway Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mountway Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Mountway Holiday Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Location Location Location With Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am going to list the for's for this property first.

1. Fab location, very near to town and Kings Park

2. Great staff, a special thank you to Polly who was so helpful to us.

3. Spacious bedroom with great aircon, nice bedlinen, comfortable beds.

4. Well equipped kitchen, fridge freezer, toaster, cutlery, cups, mugs, glasses, pans, large slow cooker, single portable hob, washing up liquid, scourer, dishcloth, teatowel.

5. Bathroom with bath, loads and loads of hot water at all times, towels, soap.

6. Enclosed balcony that is perfect for drying clothes even from soaking wet on the provided clothes horse, there is also a wardrobe on the balcony and table and chairs.

7. On site laundry room with washer, dryer and iron.

8. BBQ area undercover with large picnic tables.

9. Free computor in reception

The Againsts are as follows

1. Wifi was awful in our room, I could only get a signal when either in the kitchen or sitting in the bathroom.

2. There is a freeway outside the apartments, with windows shut and aircon on it did not disturb us though.

3. Aircon is on a 4 hour cycle, I actually think this is a good thing despite having to get up to switch back on in the night. Easy to do, just a switch on the wall. It saves energy when most people will leave on and go out!

4. Rooms are old, I believe the building was built in the 1960's, it is in dire need of a complete refurb - however we were comfortable and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    84
    55
    27
    43
See reviews for
53
47
34
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

location was excellent to the CBD & KINGS PARK both in easy walking distance Room 501 had a million dollar view.
Only let downs were needs new carpet, power point in bathroom, & one on wall by bedroom mirror
with a light above the mirror as well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I wont stay here again and wont recommend it to anyone. Sure location is good but rooms are VERY outdated blinds missing chunks of carpet missing bathroom dirty with dripping taps lift didnt work and had to pay for parking from 8am as all parks were taken. Will pay that bit extra next time for something more pleasant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleaver294212, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It confirms the average of 1 in 10 stays a week and then makes totally negative comments. We are fully booked most of the time but not fully booked way into the future. Its not compulsory to please every-one all the time but we will keep trying.
Kind regards John Bergin General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed with my family and it was a wonderful experience. I am glad that I did not opt for the possibilities far away from CBD. Location is one of the prime locations in Perth. Just cross a bridge and you are right there in the middle of CBD. If you Hire a car then you have the luxury of ample parking space with the Mountway and if you decide to utilize the excellent TransPerth transport you are right on the spot. Almost any area within the WA is in your reach, use GPS on your mobile and you have number of possibilities to travel. Esplanade Bus Port and Train Station is only minutes walk away. Get to Transperth Busport and buy your SMARRIDERS and now you have access to all the transport, go to Fremantle or Beaches or places you like to.
Within CBD Transport is Free and at this location Woolsworths is not far away, go fetch your grocery to cook in your own self contained kitchen and enjoy meals, tea, coffee anytime you like while staying within the budget.
If you have to attend some official work then CBD and all offices are nearby, even if you forgot something at the Mountway, getting back to apartment and attend the job instantly is not a big deal. If your agenda is convenience, budget and proximity with self containment, Mountway is a very good option. I must say that staff is excellent especially the Manager. Traffic noise is easily handled if you close the glass doors and use AC. TV channels are fine and there is a WIFI facility

There is always a tradeoff between certain things and you have to strike a right balance and for me it was Mountway. However, one should look into his own preferences before taking the decision. For me it was really a nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just down the hill from the lovely Kings Park and a short walk to the city, Mountway is good value. The facilities are adequate and the rooms are kept clean. Staff are helpful. The main downside is the traffic noise from the freeway, but you get used to it in a few nights. The money you save on accommodation you can spend on tours and expenses!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Mounway in October. Our family have been here for 15 days. Location of the hotel is perfect! You can walk to the centre of the city for 5 minutes! Two CBD stations are next to the hotel. Rooms are clean and tidy! They serviced every 4 days. There is a very good TV, a wardrobe, comfortable beds, table and chairs. The kitchen is very good equiped. There is a fridge, microwave, oven, kettle and all kitchen appliances, that you need. The shower was in a very good condition. Staff were very helpful and great! They gave us a perfect map, it was very useful! Free Wi-Fi internet is in the rooms. There is a limited free parking, but we always could find a place! I would recommed strongly this hotel to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I live in country WA, and always stay here when I come to Perth, either alone or with the family. My last stay was in September with my kids, 8 and 6. The staff were lovely, greeting the kids as well as me and giving them a show bag of treats each! I love the full size fridge, frypan and microwave, so you can self cater as much or as little as you like. A short walk up a hill in one direction lands you in beautiful kings park. Cross the freeway in the other direction and you are in the CBD with all it's food, entertainment and shopping. I've had no trouble parking on the property. I would recommend this hotel for good value for money and great location and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountway Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.