We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - price are just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountway Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountway Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Mountway Holiday Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location - price are just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for few nights - although not a very tidy & clean - paint is coming out on wall... And many other things but you get what u pay for - I tried other motel & apartments but all of them comes on very high price... Over all Perth accommodation are on higher side. So I can only say at this price it's really worth staying. Staff is also helpful. There is a small parking problem but not so huge... Can get off street parking as well.. I can rate this 3.5 out of 5

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    81
    52
    27
    40
See reviews for
48
46
33
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Dear All,

I recently stayed at Mountway Holiday Apartments and found the location and accommodation convenient and cost-effective. I didn't want to spend too much, but did want my own kitchen so that I could make my own breakfast, coffee, etc., and Mountway is perfect for me. I love being in the heart of the CBD close to convenient public transport and shopping malls: this is important if you are time- and cost-conscious and need access routes to all locations quickly.

The views are also quite fantastic. There is a sense of motion about the place: and I feel energized to go to bed early and get up early and rock'n'roll into the city! (I am single!)

The managers John and Sue Bergin are a pleasure to deal with, so too their support staff and cleaners, and I always feel very welcome. I have stayed at the Mountway 5 times now and it is my number one choice due to convenience and cost-effectiveness. I'm always sad to have to leave at the end of my holiday and find myself saying, "Thank you Mountway for the wonderful stay!"

Thank you for reading my review, and I hope you find your stay exciting and pro-active and that you can achieve all the goals on your list in time.

Sincerely,
Bud

Room Tip: Rooms higher up may be quieter as they are further from the noise of roads below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed recently and found the place ideally situated and moderately priced in comparison with a lot of the accommodation in Perth close to the CBD. As we didn't spend too much time in the apartment during the day we weren't overly concerned about staying in an old place with basic fittings. The bed was comfortable and the sheets and towels clean.. The shower was adequate.

The staff were always helpful and all arrangements were handled professionally. The cleaning staff deserve credit for keeping the room clean given the age of the fittings and furnishings.

Management have a contract in place for the upgrade of kitchens and in the future this will enhance the property.

The building is situated alongside twelve lanes of expressways, while noisy, it did not bother us and we slept well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was not so bad as i did not need any services in the Apartment. Easily access to down town of Perth just walk across the bridge of The Highway and turn to the right we will reach Perth Convention Center and turn left you will reach the main road on the George Street. There is no reception at night, but I feel safe and secure walk at night from down town to hotel. It is just a basic apartment where you can make your own sandwiches in room, as there is a refrigerator, microwave and stove in the apartment, A small tiny balcony for all apartments where you can enjoy your own special breakfast with a very crowded view from highway. For a reasonable price I will recommend Mountway Holiday Apartments to all my friends.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Close to the city, but very dirty and run down. The windows were filthy. The lighting around the complex is poor at night. We booked for two bedroom but 1 bedroom was the only room available. The water from the shower was a dribble at best. The noise from the road is overwhelming. There is no parking!! There is only permit parking in local streets. Kings park is close which is about the only thing going for this place!
It's just not worth it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
So you're not a happy camper because you booked a 2 bedroom apartment but none was available. Mountway Holiday Apartments advertise across all sections of the community as a budget property. Clearly on the website it states all are one bedroom studio style. So if you had a misconception please don't be annoyed with us. The water authority did reduce the water flow to Mount Street during the week but only for a very short time. To tell people that there is no parking is not true. There is limited free parking on-site and its free on the street after 6pm. Ordinarily I would ask Tripadvisor to take down reviews that are untrue but your review is cleverly misleading and readers need to know we only have one bedroom studio style apartments and there is free on-site parking. Check out several places properly before you book and you will be able to make an informed choice without misconception. Kind regards John Bergin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We needed some where with in walking distance from the Convention Centre and it filled the bill. Plus it had cooking facilities in the room. I emailed them and arranged for them to accept delivery of goods on my behalf which they kindly stored for me. Comfortable beds in basic rooms, although a little noisy from the freeway traffic, double sets of Windows meant we got a good nights sleep. Wifi was expensive at $20 per day so didn't use it. Will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Was pleasantly surprised to see pots, pans, frying pans, kitchenware, normal sized fridge, microwave, etc. Double bed was comfortable. Right next to the motorway so as a light sleeper I used earplugs. Staff are courteous, friendly and helpful. Any problems were sorted out almost immediately.
Would stay there again (room 202).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountway Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount Street via Cliff Street | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountway Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.