We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great summer vibe, service and food. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Crow

The Old Crow
172 Newcastle Street, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great summer vibe, service and food. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at The Old Crow.

We ate early to get to the theatre on time, and there was a lovely relaxed feel to the outdoor section -- people enjoying coffees or drinks while chatting or reading the paper in their thongs.

It was hot so we didn't order entrees/tapas but went straight to "large dishes". My friend raved about the beef with re fried beans and I think the chowder topped w soft shell crab was the best chowder I've had anywhere (San Francisco included). With a simple salad, it was close to the perfect meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    7
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Alcohol first, food second”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Not sure where the focus is supposed to be, but the food and service here was sadly average on a Friday lunch service. For a restaurant liberally referencing southern US cuisine, there's no smoky complexity to the spicing in the dishes, a lack of in your face seasoning, although the portion sizes are XXL so that's one out of three I guess. The service was almost non-existent, wine and cocktail pitchers almost dumped in front of us (and it's pour your own), had to use side plates as share plates and dirty paper napkins left on the table between courses. It's all very hip in look and aloof feel, and the cocktail list is very good, so I'd recommend this place to go and have a drink, then maybe order some food to soak up the alcohol. Beyond that, and I think this place is overreaching a bit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

went to this restaurant for coffee and dessert twice now. staff are attentive and makes you feel relaxed. please try the key lime tart! we just sat at the outdoor section at the front. will definitely come back for dinner next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Book ahead! We shared the brussels sprouts ($15.50), lamb ($31), and fried potatoes ($9), and all were fantastic. Take a Scottish friend as translator because if the nice, friendly Scottish lady is your server, you'll need one. She was great. The bottle of Courtilles Rhone ($42) was a good match.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A very good new restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Old Crow is a find. It is very popular and booking is a must. The setting is rustic and there is a variety of seating options. The staff are friendly and are very knowledgeable about the food and drink on offer. The menu has an excellent choice and the food itself is outstanding. Serving sizes are spot on for the price point, but the quality is well above. There is also a good wine list covering all the expected varieties and a few surprises as well. This restaurant is well worth a visit and you will find it excellent value for expensive Perth.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Crow also viewed

 

Been to The Old Crow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Crow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.