We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Thai in Perth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galangal Thai Cuisine

Galangal Thai Cuisine
64 Etwell st, East Victoria Park, Perth, Western Australia 6101, Australia
+(61)893614450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai in Perth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A small little gem at the back of East Vic Park near Curtin University. It's fresh, fusion and come with great service. Thumbs up for all the appetizer especially the grilled prawn salad. Tried all the main dishes and non of them disappoint us. We love the roast duck red curry and pad prik king with prawn. Booking is needed as it's full all the time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Suburban Surpirse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This excellent little Thai resturant is tucked away at the back of East Vic Park in Perth. What struck me was how "fresh" in every sense of the word the food was. Six of us went so we got a good spread of dishes and we shared and enjoyed them all. As with Thai you do need to expect it to be a bit spicy, but none were so hot that our mild palates couldn't tolerate them. The servings are not huge, but its reasonably priced so you can always add another selection or a bit more rice. The service is great and its BYO - such a pleasure to be able to bring your wine selection to a resturant.
So get your directory out to find this one, its worth the effort - you will need to book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent Thai, competing with Nahm Thai and Red Opium.

We enjoyed the mass atman curry and duck with lychee curry.

Casual atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum - Will be going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I went to dinner with a group of girlfriends. The service was great. The staff were very polite. After a couple of tasty appetisers we shared 4 main dishes in a group of 6. It wasn't enough for me personally, but the food was very tasty. The beef masaman was a highlight for me....just wished there was more! Will definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I come to Galangal every fortnight and it never disappoints. The Masaman curry is impeccable, the spicy prawns are unmatched by any other Thai restaurant in Perth and it is such a relief that a Thai restaurant in Perth has put papaya salad on their menu. The venue is intimate, the prices are very reasonable and it's even better that it is a BYO establishment. We will frequent this restaurant until for as long as we will live in Perth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal Thai Cuisine also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Galangal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galangal Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.