We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Disaster!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Guillaume Perth

Bistro Guillaume Perth
Crown Perth, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 1,459 restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New Year's Disaster!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tonight we just got back from one of the worst NYE experiences we've had in a long time We booked Guillaume for NYE 2013 @ $295pp plus drinks. After all the hype, the experience was totally sub standard - in fact it was a bit of a rip off and soooo tacky. The four piece jazz band was mediocre and the music played between band breaks was Phil Collins, (can you believe it!). The food was average - but I must say the service was excellent. The wait staff were very good. Despite the godo service, there is no way I would recommend this venue or go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    35
    43
    29
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, sadly service not up to scratch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food was great. We ordered the snapper, the vegetarian plate entree and a few sides - they were fresh and honestly flavoursome. We had the lemon tart (it was silky and velvety and delicious!) and the apple tart (this was wonderfully delicious too). However, we were a little disappointed with the service - it was lacking in attention and personal touch. My partner ordered her second drink which they took awhile to get to us with no apology. There was no checking with us on if we were ok with the food. I expected a bit more from the service which goes with the price tag, the reputation of Guillaume and the prestige of the establishment. I would go back to Bistro Guillaume, but in Melbourne.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good food prices - not so drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Was pleasantly surprised as to the food prices fully expecting at Crown Perth fine food restaurants are pricey. The prices were on par to a good pub but so much better.
We were seated outside overlooking the new pool area and it was beautiful.
Food was excellent and the service friendly and knowledgeable without being haughty as some waitpersons can be in classy surroundings. Only one thing was amiss and it was the pineapple in my husband's dessert. It was hard and when this was pointed out it was immediately taken off the bill.
On the drinks side - this time it was not pub prices, which we didn't expect, but was very pricey.
Other than that a very enjoyable visit and we will definitely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“dinner at Guillaumes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were 4 people looking for fine dining in a more casual setting which this was.
The food was devine, the service prompt though somewhat aloof or common, by this I mean,
To reach in front of us across to another to serve water or wine is so rude.
The wine list is extensive yet so incredibley outrageously priced it was almost unbeleivable.
We 4 are world wide travellers and here at home seek fine food and wine and service always,
when I say the wine was obscenely priced, I jest not!!!! 4-5 times the price we ourselves can purchase our wine for.

Go for the food, Sweetbreads were perfect, Marron exquisite, dessert was mini pavalova with passionfruit sorbet the best!
I would I go again, yes for the food but I would have an entree or appetiser elsewhere before with wine then go onto Guillaumes for main and dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not quite France”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Walking into the bistro it doesn't look to warm and inviting, more like an old fashioned American diner. However, our waitress, actually French from Montpelier, was warm and cheerful. Appetizers, escargot, without shells and fun of picking, and terrine were pretty large by Perth standards and quite good. Veal sweetbreads for a main were well done but duck confit was a little dry. Maybe a bit jaded after having spent so much time in France recently.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Guillaume Perth also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Burswood, Greater Perth
 

Been to Bistro Guillaume Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Guillaume Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.