We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tapas good and good vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cholita

La Cholita
279 William Street, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 1,471 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: www.facebook.com/pages/La-Cholita/282195818492184
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great tapas good and good vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a drink and a bite here after work one night. We sat at the bar and were immediately tended to.

The food was quick, fresh and tasty. The tacos were really small would be my main complaint. Try the duck bites however which were awesome.

Great cocktails menu so we'll be returning to sample some more! There should be more places like this in Perth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    30
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“THE BEST Mexican I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a recent visit to Perth we visited this amazing little, slightly "hipster" restautant. I'm not normally a fan of Mexican food (Refried beans with everything seems to be the norm most places!) but this place simply blew my mind!!

We ate mostly 'tapas' style, sampling many of the dishes and i couldnt get enough of all of them! Even the Sangria was amazing. Some of the dishes we sampled were; 3 Cheese Jalapeno, Chorizo, queso corelo, Baja Fish Chipotle mayo Taco, Guacamole (even this simple dish was amazing!), Prawn, Mango salsa, cos lettuce (this was incredible! RECIPE PLEASE!!!!) and others.

The staff were very laid back and pleasant (not formal or traditional so if you like that, this isnt your place) and we didnt wait for anything.

The music was a little loud but it suits the style of the place.

My only regret is that this restaurant isnt in my home town!!!!

You must try this place out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tapas Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Go in small groups as it's hard to get a table for more than 4 people.

Everything is good value for money, except the tacos. Too small and u only get 1 bite sized taco for $5.

My favourites include the potato and octopus as well as the chorizo quesadillas.

Service can be a bit slow during peak periods, but that's to be expected really.

Good atmosphere, very tasty food. We'd rather order tapas and share instead of mains.

Oh, the sangria is great Btw!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eat at the bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place is great, particularly if you ate having to eat alone (in Perth for work) as you can eat at the bar and not feel like a complete loser at your own table. Great selection of tacos and mains. I had the chicken curry. Would have been nice to share it as it was half a chook! Awesome funky atmosphere and friendly waitstaff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had to wait a ill while for a table but that didn't bother us. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, one of our plates was missing but as soon as we told a waiter it was brought quickly. The menu could have some more details or staff could explain the sizing, which I've witnessed in other tapas bars but was an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cholita also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to La Cholita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cholita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.