We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem, nice Nepali and Indian menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Nepalese Restaurant

Kathmandu Nepalese Restaurant
59 Arnisdale Rd, Shop 2 | Duncraig, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
08 9243 1333
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 1,563 Restaurants in Perth
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Hidden gem, nice Nepali and Indian menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Went with friends and ate in the restaurant. Loved the chicken dumplings and samosas.
Lots of people getting takeaway too - this is obviously very popular with locals and for good reason.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This little restaurant is hidden away in a shopping centre. You enter and your tastebuds suddenly sit up and take notice - the smells are divine. The decor is clean and fresh, the wait staff are so obliging but most of all the food is fantastic. Try the parratha, try the garlic naan, try the prawns in coconut curry, try the chicken biriyani. I'm going back for more. Very reasonable prices!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We've been meaning to try this restaurant for a while and when we finally got round to it, we certainly weren't disappointed. We went early and we the first there but being midweek didn't think much about it. However, the takeaways were constant and then soon enough all the tables were taken. The service started off really well, with complimentary papadums and sauce and then not too long after our order was taken. The papadums and sauce were both excellent.

However, about half an hour later the waitress came out and told us the dal we ordered wasn't available - not sure why it took this long to find out. It was then another half hour before we had any food.

When the food finally came, it was worth the wait (just!). Both the fish and the chicken we ordered were delicious and the so too was the rice and roti. However, we were overcharged $25 and didn't realise until we got home. They were good about it but meant we had to go in again the next evening for the difference as they didn't know how to credit our card over the phone.

All in all a very enjoyable meal but the service really needs work. We will give it one more chance :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my fiance went here one night as he has travelled through Nepal and wanted to see how the food compared to the real thing.
It was a weeknight so it was very quiet, we were greeted by a softly spoken, polite young man and seated in a quiet corner. As people started to come in for take-away and tables, it seemed there were a few regular diners who chatted with the staff, which made us think we had picked a good place to eat.
We were promptly given papadums and dipping sauces. My fiance remembers eating 'momos' in Nepal so we ordered them. After a while a big steaming plate of fresh momos came out, and they were DELICIOUS. I am a big fan of dumplings and Indian food, and to a Nepalese newby like me these were the perfect combination of the two! If we had just ordered the momos alone I would have left very happy.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meals but we were still raving about the momos when we go into the car. Lovely.
Will return and be a bit more adventurous and try the goat dish next time!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Delicious food! We have been to the restaurant once before and had take away the other night. The food is very good, service at the restaurant is good and we did not have to wait long for our meals.

Take sways took just a 15 minute wait for a full meal for a group of 8 people.

Great food. We'll be coming back to he restaurant and for take sways.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Nepalese Restaurant also viewed

Perth, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to Kathmandu Nepalese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Nepalese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.