We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no value for much money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of YMCA Jewell House

YMCA Jewell House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added YMCA Jewell House to your Saves list
YMCA Jewell House
180 Goderich St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia (East Perth)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Oirschot, Nederland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“no value for much money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I don't know what's wrong with these people. I know that Perth is an excessively expensive place but for € 55,- a night I've stayed in pretty hotels all over the world and here I got a worn out boys room, shared showers, shared toilets and most of all: only grumpy faces, wherever you look.
If I would ever go to Perth again, I would NOT consider going back to this place.
It's not that is is very dirty or so, it's just that the price and the goods aren't matching at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    9
    10
    24
See reviews for
4
12
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamunda, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had booked my friend from UK in for 3 nights & it was dark when we arrived but reception staff helpful. We went to room which was basic but more than adequate, bonus of being across corridor from bathroom.
My friend said that breakfast was good, plenty of food available & well presented. He would stay there again as it was in good position for most things in Perth & met some interesting people there too.
I think it is a good cheap option for accommodation in Perth which can be so pricey now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I checked in pretty late at night so there wasn't many people around, first impression of my room was pretty average for what you pay, bit of a funky smell but not too bad. Felt myself itching all night every night so there must be bed bugs or something like that. The next day when I got up and left my room I noticed a lot of strange characters around which kind of freaked me out a little, I didn't know what kind of place I was staying in, I was expecting other travellers like myself. The worst experience I had was sharing a lift with an older woman that was either mentally challenged or off her face that had obviously soiled herself as there was an overwhelming smell of feces and wet patches on the back of her skirt. When I got out of the lift I grabbed my stuff and checked out early. For the two nights I stayed there I didn't feel safe at all entering or leaving the building so I wouldn't like to think how it would feel for a girl! Don't go there, there is better options for less $$ if you look around!

Room Tip: Don't get 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I've stayed here a few times the last couple years when I just want a cheap room to myself and it is not the nicest place around. Things generally get cleaned daily but not enough to keep up with the amount of people that stay here. Recently there were actually 2 of the 3 lifts working but the middle one was jumping a fair bit and made me (and others) nervous to use. Generally there's only one lift working and have had to use the stairs before when it broke; not fun staying on 8th floor lugging luggage up and down! The breakfast is nothing special, but it is included when you book through wotif. Parking is out front and not secured, unless you get on with the smokers who will help look after things while out there. Never had an issue, but you certainly get the nervous feeling parking here.

Room Tip: Ask for room on south side during summer as no air-con in room, Ask for north side room in winter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Highlights include brawls less then 50 meters from the entrance, arrests on the steps of the reception troubled sweaty sleep (no air con) and spotty wifi. Definitely not worth the price but Perth is expensive, look around as much as you can as I have heard some bargains exist (for Perth).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I arrive at the YMCA to find people drinking on the steps to the front door, others under the influence of various substances and people in cars looking to obtain drugs or prostitutes. My impression was this accommodation was a half-way house; an impression made even before I was 20 meters in the door. I checked in early and asked if “…it was OK to leave my bags in the room or behind the counter”. I was informed “no problem checking in early”; thus I was provided a key at reception and took the lift to my floor. As soon as I stepped out of the lift the smell reminded me of a barnyard. Carpet and walls stained, with the over powering smell of eremite. My room was very small, dark and dingy with a mouldy smell about it; thankfully someone had left the window open before I arrived. I left my bags on the bed and proceeded to the toilet; no running water to flush the toilet and to wash hands. On my way down in the lift I notice a sign stating no water service for 6 hours and no mention of this from reception. During the day I made arrangements for other accommodation. Six hours after dropping my bags off in my room I arrived back at reception and informed theme I want to cancel my accommodation, they stated I needed to contact the online broker for a refund and I was happy to pay for one night so I could move on with my life. BUT NO!! To cut a VERY, VERY LONG STORY SHORT!! I had to fight to get my money back for the nights I did not stay and only ended up paying for one night when YMCA wanted me to pay for two nights because I checked in early.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

receptionist or all the staff were like they dont give a thing about the customers. its like they are working without getting paid or something. i slept at deluxe single for 66 dollars. got the student promo. it was very nice room big and clean. fridge tv . wardrobe.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YMCA Jewell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Jewell House

Address: 180 Goderich St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your YMCA Jewell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ymca Jewell House Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA Jewell House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.